Food pr0n… Thursday?

16 August, 2007 at 3:00 pm (food)

(Go with me here. I still haven’t finished those stupid socks. And it boggles the mind how I can knit one sock in a day and then take a week on the second.)

I love tortilla chips. They’re crunchy and satisfying and they’re good with salsa or dip or a bit of cheese melted on top, and when I’m in true teenager mode I make pizza nachos, which really, given the opportunity, I could live off of forever. Or at least until I’m out of college.

So when I made chili the other night, and discovered *gasp!* that I was, in fact, out of tortilla chips, I was understandably disappointed. I’m gluten intolerant, so I can’t eat crackers or bread with my chili, and the chips often serve as an all purpose replacement for those things.

But then I thought, ‘I have tortillas, why don’t I just… chipify them? It can’t be that difficult.’ And, in fact, it wasn’t. I cut up a couple of tortillas, spread the pieces out on a baking sheet, added some salt, tossed into the oven for about ten minutes, and, dare I say it, they’re better than store bought.

I will be making these again. And again. And again.

(I’m going travelling all over on trains in the next two days, so the socks should be done by weekend.)

2 Comments

  1. Pam said,

    Oh, those look delicious!!

  2. wonky said,

    Chipify! Brilliant!

    Those do look tasty, hmmm I have some leftover tortillas in the freezer….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

