Mini Clap!

29 August, 2007 at 3:44 pm (FO, knitting)

I feel like I am one lone voice of dissent. Alllll alone.


(Mini Clapotis, Worsted Malabrigo in Tuareg, US8s)

I really don’t like Malabrigo. This is my second time using it (the first was laceweight on a flared lace smoke ring) and it just doesn’t feel that soft to me. It feels sticky. And snaggy. I of Unkempt Nails had a hell of a time managing to keep knitting on both projects. Not to mention, the stuff seems to attract every bit of cat hair and dirt and fluffy fuzz within a five mile radius. Don’t get me wrong, the finished Clappy is gorgeous, and feels nice around my neck, but it was a pain to knit with and I know I’m going to spend most of the time trying to rid it of cat hair and unsnagging it from my earrings, if I wear it.

I could only manage to work up one skein of the worsted for the scarf, and it ended up being just under six feet long, anyway. I’m either going to swap the other skein I have, or, if I can suffer through, use it for a matching pair of mittens. In any case, I am very lonely here in dissent-land, because everyone raves about this stuff. Maybe I’m just missing something. Oh well, at least I know now that it’s not for me. (Anyone want a scarf?)

In other news, I picked a colour combination for the endpaper-along, but I won’t be sharing what it is until Saturday. Also to be revealed on Saturday is my very strange technique for colourwork (also known as, I don’t know what I’m doing and I refuse to look it up, so I make things up entirely.)

8 Comments

  1. Christy said,

    what did you do to make your clap a mini?

    I haven’t tried the Malabrigo yet – it’s in the stash waiting to become a felted something or other (though felting it seems a bit wrong, in a way, considering how everyone raves about it). but I hear you on the snaggy thing – I’ve tried to pet some yarns and it just sticks and doesn’t feel nice at all

  2. pinkphish said,

    I can’t comment on the malabrigo having never worked with it.
    I love your mini-clap though- it really shows off those subtle colour changes.

    Really enjoying your new blog too :-)

  3. Guro said,

    Oh, it’s so pretty! I have a skein of Malabrigo, but only for petting. I can’t seem to settle on a pattern for it.

    My mini Claps have all been knit from Kureyon. It does attract “every bit of cat hair and dirt and fluffy fuzz within a five mile radius” too, but you can’t really see that on Noro;)

  4. kelly said,

    It is a beautiful blue, though.

    Life’s too short to knit with yarn you don’t like, sweetie. Swap it for something that makes you happy!

  5. Beverly said,

    I’ve only ever touched Malabrigo laceweight before, and I wondered if it would be “sticky” like you describe. I’ll keep that in mind if I ever think of buying some.

    The color is absolutely gorgeous though.

  6. Ali said,

    Please do share how to make a Mini-Clap. I have two lone skeins of Mala-whatever-it’s called. :)

    I love the color of yours, it is very yummy looking.

  7. jpknits said,

    It’s beautiful, though. You’re such a trouper, carrying on and finishing it.

  8. progress, maybe. « Jeshknits said,

    [...] incorrect guesses, as well. -Your prize will be: One skein of Malabrigo worsted, enough to make a mini clap of your very own. (for those of you wondering how I got mine to be a mini, I only worked one and a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

