Anatomy of a hand.

26 October, 2007 at 7:28 pm (caturday, knitting)

We are still having mitten related troubles here in Jeshville…

mittendiagram

the biggest problem is obviously the length of my fingers; I stupidly didn’t realize that changing my gauge to make the width smaller would also, in fact, decrease the length, and my fingers are quite long in comparison to my otherwise small hands.

I’m a bit undecided on where to go from here; I washed and blocked it last night and it’s still a little wet from that, so maybe I’ll try it on again after it’s dry and see if I can’t make it fit, somehow. If I can, I’ll move on to the second (and reknit the thumb, which is too tight at the base and too loose at the tip, stupid gauge), if not, well, I’ve got myself a very soft, pretty wall hanging.

mittenfront

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a cat and a mug of hot chocolate to curl up with. It has been a ridiculous week*.

*(Next week, unfortunately, promises to be even more ridiculous; I’ve two midterms, a twenty page assignment due, and a four page paper. I hate college.)

Permalink 2 Comments