A head start.

31 August, 2007 at 12:49 pm (caturday, knitting)

I woke up unusually early this morning, which must have done something to my brain, because if you had talked to me before about twenty minutes ago I would’ve sworn to you that it was Saturday, 1st September.

Yeah, not so much.

But of course, it being the first of the month and all, I thought, “I should start my day with some knitting–of endpaper mitts!” and I did. So now I’ve got a bit of a head start on the rest of the knitalong, but I’m going to do my best not to work on them anymore today.

endpaperstart

I found some grey cashmere/merino (or maybe it’s cashmere/cotton, I’m not sure) from Colourmart in my stash that goes splendidly with the blue sock yarn that I dyed. I couldn’t be happier with this combo. Here’s a full swatch, for a better look:
endpaperswatch

As for my weird stranding technique, every reference that I’ve found has you hold at least one yarn in your left hand when doing colourwork. I can’t do it. I can’t knit continental. Which is fine with me, normally, but it presented a bit of a challenge for this technique, because I’ve never seen it done by holding both yarns in the right hand.

Doesn’t mean it can’t be done, though.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The grey yarn is wrapped around my fingers the way I normally wrap my yarn; around the pinky, grasped in the ring finger, over middle and index fingers, thrown with the index finger. The blue yarn is wrapped around my fingers with the grey, except it only goes over my middle finger, and is thrown with the middle finger.

I’m sure I’m not the first person to invent this technique, but I must say I feel a bit clever figuring it out for myself. And my floats are delightfully even, although I didn’t get a picture of them. I’ll get one before next week.

I’m going to go find something to do to keep my fingers from reaching for the mitts, now that I’ve discovered how addicting they are, but in the meantime, some Caturday on Friday:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Kitty’s been threatening to eat me–I think she’s taking lessons from Calvin.

5 Comments

  1. knittingnoob said,

    The yarn is so beautiful! I hope you like the result.

    (cute yet ferocious lookin kitty)

  2. deirs said,

    Jesh! I knit fair isle like that too! One handed and all! I feel like if other people knew you could do it one handed, they wouldn’t be so afraid of it, and I’ve thought about writing up a tutorial, but it’s kind of hard to take pictures of one’s self while knitting… For the record, I wrap the yarn around my middle finger, and then one color goes over the point, the other under. All it takes is a neat little twist of the hand to knit with either color.

  3. stephie26 said,

    I love the colors.

    I do the exact same thing except I knit Continental. I couldn’t get my fingers to work right with English, so I did it this way.

  4. Ali said,

    I like the colors, those are going to be very pretty.

  5. turtlegirl76 said,

    That’s what I end up doing! I’m not sure how or why it is that I can see that last pic while at work, but I can and that’s what I do! Can’t see the first two but I’ll bet they’re pretty progress!

Leave a Reply

