College is good for some things.

5 September, 2007 at 10:27 pm (knitting, life)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Things like lots of uninterrupted knitting time while sitting through five hours of motivational speakers and one horrible, horrible half hour when we all had to turn to the person next to us and introduce ourselves. And then get up and introduce that person to the class. I’m sorry, I thought I was here for the college classes, not seventh grade for eighteen year olds…

(but if you look to the upper left you can see where ‘Jesh’ comes from. If you thought that was a mouthful [admittedly most people just say Jess] try Myra Jessamyn. Rhymes with ‘I are a Specimen.’ My friends, whose last names rhyme with Paradox, are threatening to adopt me…)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Oh well. My endpaper mitts are much happier on US1.5s and I was much happier after I bailed on the rest of orientation and caught the train home. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go buy some new shoes with arch support, because my feet are rebelling against my two year old sneakers.

Ack, and a clue, before I forget: if there are n or more people in a room, the probability that at least two of them have the same birthday is greater than 50:50.

4 Comments

  1. silencepainter said,

    I had to do that “introduce the person next to you to the class” thing. It sucked. What a waste of time!

  2. chemgrrl said,

    Okay, I figured it out! I think people think you’re 23. I just wish I could find that dang factorial key on my calculator. Sheesh.

  3. blu roux said,

    Seeing as I’m horrible at maths, I had to get some assistance from my DBF.

    He helped me work out an answer of 23. If I win, I promise I’ll let him pet the yarn ; )

  4. Danielle said,

    At least you had a bunch of people and lots of knitting time. I recently went through orientation at a new job at a university. With only six people trucking around with me, it would’ve been rude to knit… drat it.

Leave a Reply

