Caturday on Sunday

30 September, 2007 at 5:21 pm (caturday, knitting)


She keeps napping in my light tent, damn her.

My best friend has asked me to finish up a Ravenclaw scarf she started ages ago, and since I taught her to knit in the first place I feel sort of obligated… it shouldn’t take too long, though, since she was over halfway finished with it anyway.

Plus, she lent me her Chibi needles, so I can finally finish up those endpaper mitts. She’s also asked me to photograph some of her gorgeous jewelry, so that she can get her etsy account up:

I love her work. I mean, I dabble in jewelry making occasionally but she understands it the way I do knitting; these creations come straight out of her brain and through her hands and are always stunning.

I didn’t get a chance to post yesterday because I was at a flea market, where I picked up a TON of clothes, as well as three sweaters with good seams to frog. One already has the sleeves off of it,

the other two I may actually get some use out of the way they are. The yarn above is (I think) either an acrylic or an acrylic blend, and there’s lots of it, so it’ll be good for a baby blanket or two. There’s also a black cotton old navy hoodie that I’m definitely leaving in sweater form for the moment. The third is an acrylic chenille type boxy sweater that I suspect is entirely unfashionable, however, it is VERY comfy and fits me well enough, so I’m on the fence about it. Each sweater? $3.

And for those of you who are curious, I am 5’5″ and I weigh 180 pounds. That’s just over 80kg, just under 13 stone. I have a BMI of 30, which puts me firmly in the ‘obese’ category. Do I look obese? I certainly don’t feel obese. Nor do I really plan to lose the 40 pounds that my doctor has asked me to lose; if I happen to do so simply by virtue of living and eating well, that’s fine. I won’t force it. I feel healthy. Judging by the responses I got, I look healthy. Why does there need to be anything more to it?

4 Comments

  1. quaffy said,

    Why yes, I was curious!

    Wee, I got the height right. To be honest, my guess for your weight was a lot more calculated than I let on. I reversed engineered it from your height and the middle of the healthy BMI range.

  2. silencepainter said,

    You looked healthy to me.

  3. klara said,

    i am on a bmi of about 29 or 28. lost weight cause I thought my bmi 32 was soooo fat. that’s so weird.

    now people guess my weight to be normal. but i am definitely on the higher end of overweight. i am too asked to loose weight cause my fat percent is at 39 or something. that’s just so weird! i’m glad you did those post. i will take your pic to my swedish sort of fa community. :)

  4. Kelly said,

    Oh the BMI is such a load of crap! I I’m a 26, which makes me just overweight. However, that doesn’t take into account that I have more muscle mass than people my height (which is 5’3″) thanks to years of swimming and physical labour. The BMI wasn’t even created by a biologist or doctor – he was a mathmatician!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

