How I get from here to… where?

5 October, 2007 at 4:00 pm (blogstalking)

I do not drive. I am nineteen and I haven’t even gotten my permit. Honestly I don’t feel that great about the idea of putting myself in control of a huge hulking metal thing and hurling myself across pavement at dozens of miles an hour. Plus, around here public transportation can get me to most places I need to go; everywhere else, I walk, or my parents take pity on me and give me a ride.

my normal Monday-Wednesday-Friday commute involves leaving the house about twenty minutes before the train is supposed to leave. Note that ‘supposed to;’ it is important later. It is a fifteen minute walk to and from the train station, uphill both ways. (seriously! the middle of my walk is the peak of a hill.) I do not have pictures of said walk, because people were giving me enough funny looks at the train station.

I wait here for a few minutes, then hop on the train. The ride itself is 10-15 minutes, depending on the time of day and how fast or slow the train is. Then the walk from station to class is 5-10 minutes, depending on where I’m going and how fast I’m going. My campus is small; even the furthest two buildings are only a two minute walk from each other, so I walk between classes.

My train ride home… that’s another story. Trains come through once an hour unless it’s rush hour, but I’m not normally on campus during rush hour. so if I miss the 3:15 train… I have to wait until 4:22. Which actually happened Wednesday, but that’s beside the point. My actual point is that if my class lets out at 2:10, and I ask the professor if I can leave early (2:05ish) to catch the 2:15 train, and my professor is awesome and says absolutely, I should not reach the edge of the parking lot only to hear that my train is pulling in. I should not have to hurl myself across the pavement (sans metal vehicle) to catch the train. I should not just barely get a seat and look at my watch and find out that it’s 2:10 and the 2:15 train is leaving the station. If you showed up at 2:12 to catch the train? oops. Looks like you’re waiting for an hour, then.

I hate early trains more than late trains, if that’s even possible. But, gripe aside, I do love public transportation.


(Marvel at my ability to take such a clear shot on a moving train! Now laugh because I took ten blurry shots before I realized that it would be a better idea to grab a picture while the train actually wasn’t moving.)

2 Comments

  1. deirs said,

    Honestly I don’t feel that great about the idea of putting myself in control of a huge hulking metal thing and hurling myself across pavement at dozens of miles an hour.

    But, but… you’re missing out on all the fun!

  2. Kathrows said,

    Where are all the people who are supposed to be on the train?

Leave a Reply

