Mitten mishap

22 October, 2007 at 11:57 pm (knitting)

Trying to get back into the swing of things–it’s hard. Ordinary life is so sucky compared to the fabulousness of fiber festivals.

So in an attempt to keep some of that yarntastic spirit alive, I cast on for some mittens in my marshmallow yarn.

There are some problems.


I can’t figure out what, since my gauge is spot on–maybe a quarter of a stitch too small, even.


Oh. Huh. I didn’t think my wrists were that small.

I might try again on US1.5s (it’s on US2.5s at the mo), but I’m not too hopeful. I like the fabric that I’m getting now and I’m not even sure a whole needle size will get me where I need to be. I may have to find a pattern written specifically for small wrists.

I am comforting myself with the fact that my floats look fantastic (if blurry–sucky camera plus bad lighting plus tired Jesh equals terrible pictures).

I’m not entirely sure why I want to knit mittens, anyway–I’ve got two lace projects (one large and one small) goin’ on, another one on the way that I need to have knitted up in less than a month, and a seekrit project that I should be getting yarn for this week that needs to be finished by the end of December. And yet… I must have mittens.

3 Comments

  1. Christy said,

    could you make the ribbing to fit your wrists and then increase to the correct stitch count for the hand? (or is your hand too small as well?)

  2. turtlegirl76 said,

    Lemme know what you find. I have 6″ wrists. Why oh why can’t my thighs take after my wrists?

  3. Danielle said,

    Why mittens? Because it’s getting cold, that’s why!

    I’m with Christy (though it’s too late now).

Leave a Reply

