Stuck in neutral

3 November, 2007 at 6:17 pm (caturday, knitting, life)

Or so it feels like. I’ve also already failed at NaBloPoMo, so I’m glad I didn’t sign up.

The mittens are back in action, and better (I hope) than ever.
vinemittenstart
My only concern is that I won’t remember everything I did exactly when I go to make the second one. I suppose I can always just wing it. The good news is that it fits to a T, and looks lovely at the same time. And I believe these are moving into my at-home knitting, because it is getting increasingly difficult for me to pull them out and work on them on the train and during class, due to my constant need to refer to a chart. No big deal, plus I’ve got a seekrit project in the works that also needs my attention.

seedstitch
That is one of 36 squares that I need to have done by mid-December, all with various textures and patterns and the like. Fortunately I’m not working alone; there are two others doing squares, so I myself only need to knit twelve of them. I’m using Peace Fleece, which is scratchy, but my swatch became pretty soft in the wash, and it shows off texture so well. Plus, I think the recipient will enjoy the meaning behind the yarn just as much as the finished object itself. My only issue is that, even though I’ve almost finished a square that I just started yesterday, I feel like I’ve made no progress at all and I have so much to do. I feel like that on pretty much everything in my life right now: assignments, knitting, housework, urgh. Mercury’s just come out of retrograde so I’m sure it will pass, but it’s disconcerting while it’s here. And it doesn’t help that my sleep cycles are thrown off by time changes.


We believe that it may be Kitty’s birthday this week–she was a little over a year old when we got her last December. (Don’t worry, I did not risk life and limb to get a birthday hat on her head. I did, however, risk my sanity while putting it on in photoshop.)

3 Comments

  1. turtlegirl76 said,

    Happy birthday kitteh!

  2. Lauren said,

    Mitten looks good, glad you figured out the fit issue!

    Happy Birthday to the kitty~!

  3. Akknitter said,

    smart move… I’d rather go insane using photoshop than risk limb trying to get a hat on the kitty.

Leave a Reply

