Breakfast and other assorted things.

6 November, 2007 at 2:30 pm (blogstalking, life)

This post is going to be a bit of a mashup, because I have neither the time nor the brain power to write with any sort of eloquence.

In blogstalking, this is my breakfast:

usually with a cup of hot chocolate. I can’t actually eat anything until several hours later, because three of those pills make my stomach rather unhappy.

In knitting, I’m not, at the moment. I’ve been distracted by other crafts, namely tatting:

In internet things, I’ve started project 365, here. It is not yet pretty or linked to anything yet, but I should get all of that worked out later today.

And in vaguely life related news, I’m kind of considering going by my full first name for the first time in… my life. I mean, there are a lot of really cool Jessamyns out there, and I feel like I should be representin’, yo. Plus I’m finally at the age where I like my name, despite its impossibility to pronounce (rhymes with ‘specimen’, for future reference) and its obscure origin (“I’m named after a writer you’ve never heard of.”) But I’m not sure if I could persuade anyone to make the switch. Might be an interesting social experiment.

6 Comments

  1. Penny Karma said,

    Jessamyn’s a pretty name!

  2. Beverly said,

    I went through a name change when I started college. My whole life up to that point, I was “Bev.” Once I started college, I decided I really liked my full name, so I started going by that instead. It took a while for me to get used to using it, and I still have friends and family who have never gotten used to using it some 15 years later, but I’m glad I decided to make the change. Using my full name just seemed more grown up for some reason. That, and I got tired of people thinking my name was “Beth” because they didn’t understand what I was saying when I introduced myself.

    Do it! Jessamyn is lovely.

  3. turtlegirl76 said,

    My cousin’s name is Vitalyn. She always went by Vicki until she turned, I dunno, 30? She tried getting people to call her Vitalyn. Yeah. That didn’t work so well. She’s still Vicki. So, family is one thing, but new people in your life might be workable.

  4. Pam said,

    Oh, I love your name!
    I have my great, great, grandmother’s tatting shuttle. I have never learned to use it though. Someday….

  5. Rhi said,

    I think Jessamyn is a fantastic name. I used to hate mine (Paige) until…oh, probably when I was 19, scarily enough. Lately I appreciate it more, for some reason. It fits well enough.

  6. Alarid said,

    I totally read your name with the correct pronunciation!

Leave a Reply

