I’m a bad knitblogger.

29 November, 2007 at 4:21 pm (knitting, life)

It’s not my fault. Really, it’s not. I have the flu. And while you would think that this would give me a free pass to stay home and sleep and knit and blog, you’d be quite wrong. The end of the semester is fast approaching and I’ve been shoved head-first into paper-writing, test-taking, and presentation-giving. Eek.

On the other hand, I still have the highest grade in my calc class and I think both my professor and several classmates are impressed with my maths skills. Go me.

So I have been getting a little bit of knitting done, here and there. Mostly on the seekrit project:
seekritsquares
On which I alternate feeling like the whole thing is going to be amazing and the best thing EVER omg, and feeling like it’s just not going to work out and it’s all going to suck and wahh. This waffling is common for me, though, so I’m trying not to worry too much. It’s coming along, at least, and I should have it completed in the timeframe that I want.

And I’ve whipped up a few heart bubbles.
heartbubbles
These things are so cute, and great for instant gratification–I can have one knitted, sewn, and stuffed in about 45 minutes, or while watching one episode of my TV show of choice (I currently follow… uh. eleven shows. Wow, how sad am I?). I mean, I can’t even finish an entire round on my teacloth in that amount of time, although that’s a whole ‘nother long, whiny story. Point is, these things whip up quickly.

I also got some things in the mail today!

Owl and squirrel kits, which will be used as (cup)cake toppers for the owl and squirrel’s wedding. I am very much considering knitting a teeny veil for the owl and an even teenier bowtie (read: small piece of i-cord tied in a knot) for the squirrel. Also going to advise the bride and groom not to put said (cup)cake toppers directly onto the (cup)cakes, because it would kind of suck to have fuzzy (cup)cakes.

I’ve learned that I will most likely be traveling for a week just after the semester ends, so I’ve also been trying to plan some knitting for that. I’ll bring along the kits and/or the seekrit project, if those aren’t completed, obviously. But I need some fun stuff, too! How much would you pack for two days in a car, three days with relatives, and then two more days in a car? Two projects? Three? None because you want to buy more yarn when you get there?

5 Comments

  1. turtlegirl76 said,

    Ooooh tough question. I don’t normally have much on the needles so I’d probably bring them all, but end up working on only one and then get stuck making dishcloths for all the relatives we see. =P

  2. Dee said,

    All I have to say is “Highest grade in your calc class???” You totally rule!

    Ok maybe one more thing…who says you can’t take projects to work on and still buy yarn???

  3. Sade said,

    I only have two WIPs at a time, so I’d take both. And perhaps buy some arn if I see something I like and a pattern to use it comes to mind.

    Congrats on your calculus grade!

    I wanted to ask, what’s the pattern for the hearts? Is it it in a book, free, your own?

  4. Beverly said,

    I’d bring 2 or 3 WiPs of different sizes and types (thin yarn and small needles; thicker yarn and bigger needles ) and maybe the materials to start another project. When I have many hours of uninterrupted knitting time, I like to have a variety so my hands don’t get tired.

    Highest grade in calc! That’s fabulous! I bow to your mathematical genius. Between high school and college I took probably 6 semesters of calculus and it was always a struggle.

    Ooo, I want to know where you got the heart pattern too.

  5. rhiannonrevolts said,

    I’d do three projects and additional yarn. But that’s cause I have ADD and get easily frustrated with some projects.

Leave a Reply

