I’m callin’ this one finished.

4 December, 2007 at 6:56 pm (FO, knitting, life)

heartbubblesinheart
Mostly because I need to stop knitting them. Have I mentioned that they’re addictive? There’s a lot more than just these seven, too, but the cat ran off with a couple, and a couple more were still being felted. Don’t ask me for a total number, because I’m not sure I want to count. (they’re here on Ravelry if you would like to heart bubble the uh… heart bubbles.)

In seekrit project news, I’m just over a quarter of the way done with my part, and collectively the group of us are just over a third of the way done. I need to get knitting.

This is a fun project, even if I alternate between happy with it and freaking out about it.

In other news, I found the PERfect dress for the owl and squirrel’s wedding:


and it looks even better in person, I’m telling you.

The only problem is that I really need a shrug to go with it if I’m going to not freeze to death. And of course, the knitter that I am, my first thought was “I should make one!”

Yeah, not gonna happen. First of all, I do not have the yarn in the right color and quantity for this purpose, and I can’t afford to buy any . Second of all, there are 26 days until the wedding, and not only would I like to have the seekrit project finished before then, I also need to knit the owl and squirrel kits up, and attend to several other things. Third, there is such a high risk factor there of me screwing it up and not having anything that I’d rather just avoid the whole dilemma.

So I figured I’d just buy a shrug–something cheap, probably easy to find. Right? Wrong! Shrugs have apparently gone back out of fashion, and the few that I can find are either A) not the right color (I need black) or B) not the right size (I need a 14/16, usually), which leaves me in a lurch. I’d love something like this, except they don’t have it in black. A dance shrug like this would also be perfectly acceptable, but there is NO way a medium/large would ever fit over my linebacker shoulders.

At this point I’m considering maybe folding up my FFL and buttoning it in some way that would make it vaguely shrug-like. My only worry with that is that it might be too voluminous– I don’t want to hide the body of the dress. But maybe I’ll play around with it tomorrow and work something out.

(day seven of bronchitisville, by the way. the coughing is never ending.)

5 Comments

  1. Christy said,

    would you get rid of the bronchitis already? jeez!

    the Crafty Alien kits should knit up pretty quick. I’m making the cow and total it’s probably going to take 4 hrs or less. (I need to finish sewing it’s ‘spots’ and ears on. dh keeps interrupting me though).

  2. turtlegirl76 said,

    There’s gotta be someone out there with a black shrug or something appropriate that they’d let you borrow. Put a call out on Ravelry or the Knittyboards. It’s worth a shot.

  3. Danielle said,

    Target? Cheap construction, but… cheap.

  4. Beverly said,

    The FFL is a large square, right? could you fold it in half, into a triangle, then wear it around your shoulders with the 2 end points threaded under your arms behind your back and then tied?

    The dress is really pretty. Great color.

  5. Ellen said,

    I HEPPED YOU FIND THIS DRESS 😀

Leave a Reply

