Hello from Illinois!

25 December, 2007 at 12:52 am (knitting, travel)

Just got back from dinner with my grandpa, stepgrandmother, stepaunt and stepuncle, complete with present opening and a wrappingpaperball fight (think snowball fight with wrapping paper, here.) I don’t think I’ve ever had quite that much fun.

Our hotel room is fine, it has excellent internet access and a Steak n Shake across the parking lot, not twenty yards away:

Unfortunately they’re closed tonight, or I’d be over there munching on some cheese fries.

I’m knitting up a storm, but unfortunately I don’t think it’ll be a big enough one–I’m not getting enough done, here.

This was the wedding shrug after the first day:
shrug1stday

After the second:
shrug1stsleeve

shrug2ndday

And today, I’ve got the first sleeve finished:
shrugfinished1stsleeve

Complete with beads nestled into the cuffs:
shrugbeads

I’m liking it so far, I just need to work faster. I have to finish this, and I still haven’t even started on work for the seekrit project–I have six 11″x11″ squares to knit for that. And I need to finish a squirrel (which I’ve just barely started.) I don’t know if I can do it, guys. I’m starting to get nervous. But I feel ever so grateful that I didn’t decide to knit my other gifts this year. Send me some knitting fairies, or something, please.

3 Comments

  1. Kzez said,

    Bun. Dude.

    Maybe Spinny can help out with the seekrit one when she’s done all hers?

    I really hope mine have arrived…

  2. chemgrrl said,

    Well, Senora Shrug is looking great so far. Here’s some super knitting juice to see you through to the end (on time).

  3. Ellen said,

    STEAK AND SHAKE IS ONE OF MY MOST FAVOURITEST RESTAURANTS AND OH GOD I HATE YOU

Leave a Reply

