(v.tr.) To raise the shoulders

31 December, 2007 at 9:39 pm (caturday, FO)

finishedshrugback

Six days feels like a very long time when I can manage to complete an entire shrug in it.

shrugcrumpled

But there were no gauge issues, no fit issues, not really any issues at all, for which I am grateful, because I got it done.

shrugbeadcloseup

Then, of course, I was stupid enough to try to wash and block it the night before the wedding to which it was supposed to be worn. This thing is cotton. Guess how long cotton takes to dry? (just a hint: two days later and it’s still a little damp.) I ended up wearing my frost flowers and leaves instead, which looked lovely, I am told.

shrugmodelled

Oh well. At least I did it.

Yarn: Elann Endless Summer Luna in black, 5 balls
Pattern: Come Cover Me by Solveig Engevold
Needles: US6/4mm Knitpicks Options
Mods: I messed with the stitch count a bit to fit my 14″ arms and my slightly off stitch gauge; I ended up casting on 72 stitches. I also added size 6/0 seed beads to the first increased purl stitch in each cuff.
(here on Rav. 🙂 )

5 Comments

  1. Batty said,

    The shrug is beautiful, but yes, cotton takes forever to dry. It looks beautiful with your dress. Next time you go out, you have a complete outfit just waiting for you!

  2. turtlegirl76 said,

    It looks great! Shame about the stubborn cotton though.

  3. Lauren said,

    I just love how the beads on the sleeves turned out!

  4. Ellen said,

    AW YAYS YOU GOT THE PRETTY SPARKLY GREEN DRESS WE FOUND DURING DRESS HUNTING! 😀

  5. dragonmommie said,

    Wow, very nice shrug! I am working on one, too, but it’s taking me a LOT longer than 6 days!
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

