What’s that? A hat!

11 January, 2008 at 2:45 am (FO, knitting)

Yeah, yeah, I’m a dork. But I’ve got a kickass hat!


I think this means that I’ve finally–finally found a hat shape that works for me. It covers my ears! It holds all of my hair! It doesn’t make my very large forehead look strange! Now I want to design a whole series of loose tams like this one. Using this yarn. It feels just like Cascade 220 to me, but I paid less than $30 for a bag of ten skeins at Rhinebeck. Plus I think the color looks fantastic on me.

bobblehatflat
And it cracks me up that the bobbly hat looks like a giant bobble itself. Honestly the trinity stitch wasn’t too bad–as I mentioned earlier, would’ve been easier with my KP needles, but as soon as I got used to doing the knit even rounds loosely, the dull SB needles weren’t a problem.

modeledhatback
My one complaint would be that there is, perhaps, just a bit too much hat, here. If/when I make another tam like this I think I’m going to go for a little shorter and perhaps a bit less wide. But I’m not bothered enough by it to rip it out and do it again.

tubularcaston
I’m tempted to walk up to random people to ask them to admire my tubular cast on, but I realize that for some reason that sounds very, very dirty. So I’ll try to restrain myself.

Yarn: Filatura Lanarota Chaco
Pattern: Trinity Stitch Hat by Breadnbadger on Craftster
Needles: US6/4mm and US8/5mm circs
Mods: hoo boy. Used worsted instead of bulky, changed needle size as noted, used a tubular cast on to cast on 78 stitches, increased to 116 for the bobbles. the decrease section calls for four bobbles to be decreased every fourth round; I wanted a faster rate due to my larger stitch count, so I decreased five bobbles every fourth round until I ran out of stitches to do that in, then I decreased as many bobbles as I could, still every fourth round and maintaining pattern stitch, until I was down to eight stitches, at which point I k2tog’d all the way around, then drew the yarn through the remaining stitches.
Duration: Three days including blocking.
(on Ravelry: here.)

11 Comments

  1. glittrgirl said,

    That looks fantastic on you!

  2. Jo said,

    That blue does suit you – great job!

  3. Eryn said,

    That is a gorgeous hat on you!

  4. Batty said,

    You’re not a dork, and that hat is awesome! I have the sudden urge to knit one with a brown band and a yellow-ish hat part because I think it would look like a pineapple. Hmmm…

    Blue is definitely your color. It looks great on you!

  5. helen (of troy) said,

    Beautiful!

  6. silencepainter said,

    The hat looks great on you!

  7. chemgrrl said,

    Woah, you finished that *already*? Holy crap, woman. And it does look so cute on you! See? I told you it would. 🙂

  8. katydidknits said,

    That looks FABULOUS on you!!!

  9. Beverly said,

    Looks great on you. I’ve been contemplating making a slouchy hat, and yours is really nice.

  10. orata said,

    That looks great on you! and your cast-on is TOTALLY TUBULAR, DUDE!

  11. turtlegirl76 said,

    Ooooh I like it! I may have to whip that one up for me! I have big yarn! Need big hat to hold it!

Leave a Reply

