On making choices

24 March, 2008 at 6:42 pm (knitting)

I am the most indecisive person I know. I can never decide what to eat, what to wear, where to go, what to do when I get there, or when I should return.

Obviously, this is a problem. I have been known to spend so long trying to decide on something that I miss the opportunity all together. But, I’m trying to change.

Starting with… button choice. Or clasp choice, in this instance, for the sweater of unknown name. (Name choice is another problem, but I’m taking baby steps here.) I have a fair number of options out there, and although I can certainly choose what I like and what I don’t like, I have a hard time figuring out what I like and what would be perfect on this sweater.

The sweater in question looks like this, currently:
quarterway
(my panicking about whether or not this whole design will even work will be saved for another post, I think.)

And my clasp choices so far are thus:

These gorgeous clasps would be perfect, except for the fact that buying enough for my sweater would mean the clasps costing potentially twice what the yarn for the sweater itself cost.


These are a good deal cheaper, and gloriously plain, but perhaps they are too plain.


These are SUPER cheap, and rather pretty, even if I can’t figure out how they close… and I’m not sure how good they would look on the sweater.


I also like these, but I can’t remember where in the hell I got this picture from.

I suppose what I really need to do is to drag myself and my sweater to a button shop and see what they’ve got. And try not to get distracted by the rest of their buttons. Ooooh, buttons…

7 Comments

  1. turtlegirl76 said,

    I’d worry about finishing the sweater first, then the buttons will present themselves.

  2. Jo said,

    I actually like the plain clasps (the second set you have pictured). I like the fact that they look like buttons.

  3. helen (of troy) said,

    all of them are great–but like turtle girl, i agree–wait.. something will come up and be perfect–and you’ll know it when you see them

    another option is to to knit matching or co-ordinating i cord, and make a frog..

    (see SonyaKnits for how to make i cord over a wire chenille (pipe cleaner) and you can make any shape you want!)

    and remember, that deciding NOT to make a decision –is a decision!

  4. genuinelye said,

    Jesh, seriously, I have SO MUCH TROUBLE settling on anything. (Genuine from Ravelry here) At all. I panic through every step where I have to make a choice. Nice blog, btw, I’m adding you to my blogroll, me likes.

  5. Emily said,

    I’m the same way! I really like the first clasp, but being a frugal girl myself, they’re probably not the best choice. I also like the last ones a lot, too bad you don’t know where they’re from.

    But again, the buttons come later, finish the sweater first!

  6. sarahkatie said,

    I really like the sweater. Simple yet elegant looking. Being the more practical knitter I would probably go with something that is affordable. Maybe something amazing will show up.

  7. Joan said,

    I think the stitch pattern looks really great with this yarn. I’m excited to see how this sweater will turn out. That said, I can’t really pick a clasp either. Have you seen Vintage Necessities on Etsy? I am addicted to all her buttons.

Leave a Reply

