On hold

30 March, 2008 at 8:19 am (caturday, knitting)

I finished the body on the still unnamed sweater jacket and then realized that I messed up a part of the increases, namely, I increased a bit too much for the bust section. It’s not a big deal, since it still fits me correctly, and I’ve fixed the error in the pattern, but it’s annoying to discover that my whole thought process about something was flawed.

Then I cast on for a sleeve,
sleevestart

but it’s headed for the frog pond. I think I want to go in a slightly different direction with it. Also, I don’t like how I was handling the faux seams:
sleeveseam

which are kind of necessary because the pattern, when knitted in the round, creates a kind of weird looking seam that I’d rather not have on this particular garment. I’m not sure yet how to fix that and have it still look nice and neat. I have an idea or two but I think I might have to swatch to get it all sorted.

So in the meantime, I’ve been working on something else.
bsjwip

This pattern is so addicting. I’m getting a bit bored with the garter stitch at this point but I can’t put it down because I want to see which direction it goes in next. And I’m using some LL shepherd worsted and it is like butter. So deliciously soft. I think I should have this finished by tomorrow, considering how much I’m working on it.

Here’s some late Caturday for you.

9 Comments

  1. turtlegirl76 said,

    THe BSJ is gorgeous! How many skeins do you think you’ll use? I have a single skein of that laying around. It would be a perfect baby thing.

  2. joyknits said,

    Very nice BSJ – the other addicting thing for me is to see what the color is going to do next πŸ˜‰ Also a gorgeous kitty!

  3. Joan said,

    love the bsj! i’ve always wanted to make one, but i don’t really know any babies.

  4. sarahkatie said,

    that yarn is gorgeous.

  5. Jo said,

    I don’t think the kitty wants her picture taken πŸ˜‰

  6. genuinelye said,

    I adore Lorna’s Laces worsted. It’s addictive to work with. Have you decided on your clasps yet?

  7. silencepainter said,

    The baby surpise jacket is super cute, I love the bright colors. I’m sure you’ll figure out what to do with the sleeves.

  8. sarahkatie said,

    Question. do you knit your sleeves on circular too?

  9. Sarah the DomesticOverlord said,

    Now I need to make one. I LOVE that Shepherd Worsted. It’s to die for.

Leave a Reply

