Surprise

3 April, 2008 at 3:08 pm (FO, knitting)

finishedbsj
How cute is this?

bsjbuttons
Buttons were found at my local sewing shop, which, as it turns out, has a ton of fantastic buttons. Although one of the women there gave my belly a rather pointed look of disapproval when she saw the sweater. Look, lady, just because I knit for a baby doesn’t mean it’s my baby. Got it?

bsjangle
I can’t even be bothered to care though. Because this is so cute!

Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman (and notes from Dawn Adcock)
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in Watercolor (yum! will totally use again.)
Needles: US4/3.5mm KP Options circs
Duration: Two days! And then like another three for me to work up the nerve to seam it and get the buttons on.
Rav link: here!

16 Comments

  1. ajrox92 said,

    It’s beautiful! I can’t believe that woman thought YOU were having a baby! People are SO judgmental and stupid!

  2. trillian42 said,

    Gorgeous. I love the way the colors worked up!!!

    And WTF? Like it’s any of that woman’s business if you were the one having the baby! Nosy beeyotch.

  3. eryn said,

    The jacket is beautiful – and “Yum” sums up Lorna’s Laces perfectly!

    Just remember that some people shouldn’t be allowed in public. Then it’s easier to ignore their faux pas.

  4. chemgrrl said,

    Cutie patooty!

  5. knitting-cat said,

    Way too cute…love it!

  6. Beverly said,

    The colors are so pretty!

  7. rhiannonrevolts said,

    What gorgeous colors, and what a cute and well-made BSJ!

  8. sarahkatie said,

    That is so cute. I really love those colors as I have mentioned before. I kind of like those buttons too.

  9. thislittlepiggykntis said,

    You go girl!! That’s one great looking sweater!! Carla

  10. jenfromri said,

    That looks so great! I love the colors – and those buttons! I’ve made a couple of BSJ’s, but neither of them had as great color as yours. Fantastic!

  11. Batty said,

    That is so incredibly cute! The colors are awesome, and the adorable little bear buttons are precious (in a good way). Beautiful, beautiful work.

  12. Megera said,

    It turned out great! The colour combo is fabulous – probably one of my favourite BSJs yet!

    (I’m planning on making one too but I’m waiting for the DVD to show up… I tried it once and my brain just about exploded 😦 )

  13. silencepainter said,

    That is really cute, from far away the colors on the buttons are great with the jacket and close up the little picture is addorable.

  14. Samantha said,

    So! Cute!

  15. Disco said,

    Great colours Jesh 🙂

  16. purlsoffastring said,

    Oh, that is yummy — the sweater AND the photography. Of course I like the yarn; it’s the same one I used for my Clap! I have the Baby Surprise in my queue, too. Yours is gorgeous. Love the buttons!

    Don’t worry; once you get old (like…me?) then the pointed glances of judgmental old biddies won’t bother you anymore. Never fear aging…it’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me!

Leave a Reply

