I can haz new project?

27 April, 2008 at 9:23 pm (caturday, knitting)

Thanks for the comments on the socks. I really don’t have anywhere to wear them but they just make me so giggly and happy whenever I look at them that I definitely consider them a success. Someone asked me why the heck I would knit socks with laceweight, of all things. My answer is that 1) I could be crazy, but 2) I don’t consider Merino Lace to be a true laceweight. Here’s a comparison picture:

From top to bottom: Knitpicks Shimmer, Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, Karabella Merino Lace, Koigu KPPPM, and Knitpicks Gloss. So it pretty easily falls in with other sock weights, really. And lest you think that it would take forever to knit a kneesock, the second sock took me all of four days, from cast on to blocking.

Meanwhile, every time I finish a project I seem to get some sort of startitis, with my queue calling to me and design ideas spinning through my head. But my WIP/UFO list is also pretty long, so I’ve decided that I need to do one of two things before I can cast on for something new: I either have to finish a sweater sleeve

which, you’ll note, has been restarted again, this time flat. It probably seems totally counterintuitive to knit the sleeves flat when the entire rest of the sweater is knit as one piece to minimize seaming, but I just don’t think the pattern will work any other way. Oh well. It’ll be a good opportunity to improve my mattress stitch skills, woefully underdeveloped as they are.

Or, should I choose option number 2, I can finish this handspun sock:

Normally I’d be all over finishing the sock up, especially since I’m halfway through it already, but while the yarn softens up so nicely after a soak, knitting with it is not the most pleasant experience. Also, I’ve discovered that I hate short rowing on DPNs. Talk about a pain in the arse, that’s annoying.

I will say that I will forever hold these socks in high regard though, because I took them with me when I went to a show on Friday, and look what I got:

Vienna was very confused, but very nice about holding my sock for a picture. (The show itself was amazing. You should go check out her music. It is goodness.)

The cats are getting along a little better… I think.

Or maybe they’re both just distracted by the birds.

6 Comments

  1. artkid said,

    I really think Raptor has it in for Meeps. One of these days she’s going to get tired of Meep’s run of the household and will just…WHAP WHAP to the face LMFAO

    I absolutely love Vienna’s face. Sorry my good camera didn’t have battery. STUPID LINE CUTTERS MADE ME WASTE IT 😦 You took the other pictures of her singing off the camera, right? I can’t remember.

    Also, if you’re around/available laters you should pop on aim to read my paper. It’s supposed to be 800-1000 words so I know I’ll have to do a massive amount of paring down, but my professor and peer edits should help that. If you can think of anything in it that needs to be cut out or edited down while you read it? Let me know! 🙂 It’s due at 3am (only a rough draft but still any help is appreciated at any stage :P)

  2. artkid said,

    Also? I vote sweater. FINISH THE DAMNED SWEATER BECAUSE IT’S REALLY NICE!

  3. artkid said,

    Also also…since apparently I can’t contain my thoughts to one comment nor is there an edit comment button (which apparently LJ has but I have yet to discover…)….you lolcatted your headline. This entertains me.

  4. rhiannonrevolts said,

    Love the lacesocks (I’ve got some Schaefer Anne sitting here waiting for needles and I’d say that’s similar weight) and Vienna Teng!

  5. silencepainter said,

    I would finish a sweater sleeve while you feel the urge!

  6. artkid said,

Leave a Reply

