On designing

2 May, 2008 at 8:05 pm (caturday, knitting)

I have a bit of a problem where I can picture exactly what I want to knit, fully formed, in my head, but I have a hard time getting it to work exactly; I have this issue with a lot of things, not just knitting. Words and music also give me this trouble. Fortunately, it seems that the more I knit the easier the translation from idea to real object becomes.

I had a craving for some herringbone socks, with undulating v’s traveling around and around the leg all the way down. And the herringbone pattern in my head looked exactly like Barbara Walker’s transverse herringbone.

The only problem with that, of course, is that it’s transverse. I wanted the zigzags to align horizontally, not vertically. And there really isn’t any easy way to change that, is there? Not unless I wanted to knit the entire sock horizontally, which, let’s face it, while it is a really cool technique, probably isn’t a good idea for such a strongly textured look.

I puzzled over this for several days, and then, well. Not that I would call myself Zeus by any means, but I find that my best ideas usually are ones that spring fully formed from my head, flashes of inspiration. Really I think I just need to learn to listen to my brain a bit more often, because it frequently already has all the right answers. And there it was, plain as day, a fantastic solution. I didn’t even need to swatch it, I just knew it was the right way.

heralegpattern

No, I’m not telling you exactly what I did–you’ll get to see when I publish the pattern.

Have a kitten instead.

5 Comments

  1. turtlegirl76 said,

    Oooh I’m intrigued.

    Wish you were in MD.

  2. Hannah said,

    Lovely! Can’t wait to see how they turn out šŸ™‚

  3. artkid said,

    P.S. GIVE ME SCANS OR PHOTOS OF MERINO WOOL PLZ!? I HAS PROJECT TO DO LOL I WAS BAD AND DIDN’T GO GET SWATCHES OF MATERIAL.

    also HI MEEPS ā¤ *GLOMP*

    i really like the texture and colour for the socks. i should really have you knit me socks. i never have enough socks, much less matching ones. HA! šŸ˜›

  4. silencepainter said,

    I like the way the stitch pattern looks, can’t wait to see it done!

  5. Batty said,

    KITTEN!

    Love the way your sock is working up, can’t wait to see the pattern.

    Oooh, look at the kitten!

Leave a Reply

