Evolution of a sock

5 May, 2008 at 2:41 am (knitting)

One of the interesting things, I think, about knitting small but complex instant gratification type projects like socks is the way you can easily see progress day by day, even hour by hour, sometimes.

It started on Thursday with a cuff,
heracuff

Then of course, the leg patterning, which I posted on Friday. Then late Saturday I turned the heel and started the gusset,
heraheelturn
(Why yes, that is a patterned gusset! I’m so pleased with myself. No one mock my badly picked up heel stitches though or you’ll deflate my currently superlarge ego.)

And now I’m well on my way to the toe.
herafoot

I’m really excited to get to the next step. And then, there will be pattern! I’m excited about that part, too, even though it’s nerve-wracking trying to get everything into place.

(By the way, if you’d like to examine the evolution of this sock even closer, it’s mostly all I’ve been talking about lately on Twitter.)

3 Comments

  1. silencepainter said,

    Oh! It looks great!

  2. Sandy said,

    Lovely!! Need a test knitter???

  3. fiberfiend6891 said,

    From that picture, I think I can see how it works now…;)

Leave a Reply

