Blue Tweed

26 May, 2008 at 10:27 am (FO, knitting)

Let’s just keep that FO parade right on goin’, shall we?

tweedfromtop

I started these in January and then suffered severe second sock syndrome. Of course, by the time I got back to it four days ago, the pattern was fresh and new, so whipping through the second sock was easy.

tweedtopandside

I do quite like these socks, and I still adore the yarn, but the short row heel is still driving me insane. And although I prefer a heel flap and gusset, that’s not exactly a perfect fit either. I think I might do a series of heel swatches to see if I can’t come up with something better.

tweedfinished

But these are just fine as they are.

Pattern: Twisted Tweed Socks
Yarn: Trekking XXL, three quarters of a skein
Needles: US1.5/2.5mm Addi Turbos for sock #1, US1.5/2.5mm KP Harmony DPNS for sock #2.
Mods: The original pattern is written for US2 needles and 72 stitches, which would undoubtedly swim on my rather narrow feet, so I went down a needle size and used only 60 stitches, and the socks are comfortably snug. I also made the pattern swirl in the opposite direction on the second sock; I’m big on symmetry.
On Ravelry here.

(It has also become readily apparent that I really need a better camera. I went through about a hundred blurry shots just to get these three. Yikes.)

Permalink 1 Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.