I have seen the light

31 May, 2008 at 12:27 pm (caturday, spinning)

Its name is handpainted BFL.

No, seriously. It all makes sense now.

I got this lovely giant fluff of fiber from FreckleFaceFibers yesterday in the mail,
frecklefaceseagypsy

promptly opened it and could not resist tearing off a chunk to try out on my rigged up spindle (my new one isn’t here yet–hopefully today). Everything just clicked. That’s what drafting is supposed to feel like. I still can’t do it without stopping the spindle (backspin, ahoy!) but I think that might be improved with the better quality spindle.


Two-plied this is a rather rough and uneven 16-17 WPI, which is a little too fine for my liking, but I’m hoping that’s just the spindle. I want to get sock yarn outta this stuff, if I can.

I’m still not knitting. Maybe today I’ll take inventory of my stash, get rid of a couple things, organize a bit, and see what’s there. There are projects that I want to make, and yarn that I want to use, but of course, none of the projects match the yarns. Always the way, isn’t it?

2 Comments

  1. rainin9 said,

    NICE! I love the colours. I can’t wait to get my hands on my package that’s coming. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. artkid said,

    that is the prettiest colour harmony! those will be delightful socks ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

