Get your ply on

12 June, 2008 at 12:32 pm (knitting, spinning)

SO glad I went for the Navajo ply. So, so glad.

I have the first roll of singles nearly all plied, so maybe I’ll have finished yarn by next week? I can hope, anyway.

But wait, what’s this?
frogdude

Knitting content!? It is! I think fiddly toys might be the cure for my knitting malaise. This guy took me maybe six hours; I used this pattern kinda, but made a lot of mods obviously. I used fingering weight yarn and US0/2mm needles to get a tiny frog, worked the whole thing in the round (with a magic cast on and a grafted shut mouth), duplicate stitched the eyes, and basically winged the legs. Paperclips are helping to keep the frog standing, and I worked a picot bind off to make the toes (I need to spray-block those, though–they keep curling!). His Rav link is thisaway in case you want to, you know, make my day by favoriting him.

Here’s a picture of him on my keyboard, for scale:
frogonkeyboard

8 Comments

  1. preita said,

    The yarn is stunning, the frog is super cute πŸ˜€

  2. turtlegirl76 said,

    Great plying! But the frog steals the show! How cute!

  3. chemgrrl said,

    Holy cow, your yarn looks AMAZING! It looks like real yarn! I mean, that you buy at the store. πŸ™‚

    I do love the frog. Hee.

  4. Batty said,

    Cute froggies! Love the frog.

    And I covet your yarn.

  5. roxy said,

    Frawg!

    too cute πŸ™‚

    Nice job on the Navajo. πŸ˜‰

  6. Ellen said,

    can i have a leetle aminal yarn guy? πŸ˜€

  7. Steph said,

    Your frog is so cute! I love the color of the green you chose, and his eyes – they give him personality.

  8. Suzanne "The Frog" said,

    Love, love, love the frog.

    Love,

    The Frog

    ;o)

Leave a Reply

