I’m a big fat cheater

22 July, 2008 at 7:54 am (knitting)

I entered into this game, called the Ravelympics, which you may or may not have heard of. I think I’ve mentioned it once or twice. And I was going to do a lovely lace cardigan, which I also mentioned once or twice. The problem is, after I swatched for said cardigan I was all of a sudden desperate to start knitting said cardigan.

Curtailing that impulse lasted all of five days.

kysarinsleeve

Maybe I should be glad though–I knit the entire first sleeve in 36 hours and if I keep up that pace finishing in two weeks is going to be a no-brainer. So I guess I need another challenge for the Ravelympics.

One thing I want to say about the sleeve; see the nice edge on the sleeve cap, up there? No? Have a closer look:
sleevecap
(Yes, yes, it needs to be blocked. I just bound off and ran to share it with you, leave me alone.)

I’m well aware that you’re not supposed to be able to shape sleeve caps using short rows. (That’s not true. I had no idea until I asked on Plurk and a helpful friend gave me this link.) But, well, I hate seaming and I really, really hate stepped bind-offs and messy edges that make things ten times harder to seam, and you really can’t tell me that I shouldn’t do something and then expect me to actually listen.

Lo! and, behold! I worked the short rows as normal (if the instructions said ‘bind off four at the end of the next row’ I simply knit to the last four stitches, then wrapped the nearest of those and turned to continue back), and when it came time to incorporate all those held stitches back in for the bind-off, rather than knitting the wraps together with their respective stitches, I picked them up and worked them on their own to fill in the gaps and prevent the bind-off from pulling the sleeve cap into a cupped shape. A firm bind off (the standard k2, past second stitch over first bind-off) helps to prevent any floppiness from the extra stitches. This trick is way handy and I think will definitely improve both the ease of assembling the cardigan as well as the final look. I’m so pleased.

Now if I can just remember what I did well enough to mirror it on the second sleeve.

8 Comments

  1. trillian42 said,

    Oh, wow. That looks awesome! I can’t wait to see how it seams together – that’s a really nifty trick.

  2. genuinelye said,

    That looks like it will become a very cute cardigan. I spent this Sunday afternoon learning to seam and literally collapsed into bed when I got home because it was so exhausting to learn. But it’s working out!

  3. etcgirl said,

    Yowzah! You may have struck gold, laydee. Umm, can I have just a couple more syllables, please? When you picked up the wraps and worked them on their own, did you do that just as you were casting off? In other words, cast off four and come to wrap, put wrap on needle and cast off, work wrapped stitch and cast off, etc?

    I can’t wait to see how that sleeve looks seamed in. Looks frame-worthy as is.

    You = genius.

  4. deirs said,

    Wow. That sleeve cap is a thing of beauty! Pure genius Jesh.

  5. limonene said,

    That’s brilliant–I can’t wait to see how it all turns out! Maybe this method will help me get over my fear of set-in sleeves.

  6. Lien said,

    Isn’t that a brilliant trick? I am *all about* the short rows. You can, of course, do the armscye bind-offs the same way.

    Stair-step bind-offs be gone!

  7. stickyfingers said,

    Jesh . . Honey . . . I want to make that cardi. Thanks a bunch, you’re a total inspiration . . I’ll have to do it later.
    *Pines for uber prettiness, knows she doesn’t have the time for it – looks at baby, doesn’t mind so much*

  8. lilknitter said,

    I’m totally doing that next time I knit a non-raglan! So pretty, Jesh!

Leave a Reply

