This post has no title

31 July, 2008 at 2:33 pm (knitting)

My brain goes into melt-mode at 32C/90F and it’s currently 34C/93F. I realize that to those of you experiencing 38/100+ degree temperatures my weather forecast seems downright chilly, but I am a delicate flower and have no air conditioning to get me through.

Despite the heat, I’m still knitting away on my sweater, which currently looks ridiculous because I’ve only just started the armhole shaping on the back.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this yet, but I love, love love the feel of this yarn. It’s decently soft to work with, but doesn’t snag or stick to my hands like some other *coughMalabrigocough* soft yarns I could mention. And when it’s been washed in blooms and softens delightfully—not enough to mess with my gauge, but enough to turn into a smooth, drapey, cohesive fabric, perfect for a light layering cardigan.

However. I’m beginning to understand why this yarn was discontinued. I understand that skeins will have knots in them sometimes. Yarn breaks, I get that. I don’t mind. I do mind a little when there are 2+ breaks or knots in all seven skeins that I’ve opened so far. I mind a lot when I open a skein and start knitting and the yarn shreds in my hands. It’s one of those chained tube i-cord-esque yarns, and just like with i-cord, if one loop comes unattached…

The whole thing unravels faster than you can say “holy quality control issues, batman!”

I’m kind of undecided on whether or not to email the company. On the one hand, the yarn’s already discontinued and I got it through trade, so it’s not like I really need my money back or anything. On the other, perhaps they’d want to know about these kinds of quality control issues? Maybe I’ll finish the cardigan up and see how the yarn fares after some wear.

1 Comment

  1. Ktb38 said,

    It looks so pretty! I adore the color!

Leave a Reply

