Three vs. four

5 August, 2008 at 6:15 pm (spinning)

In between the near-constant sweater knitting I’ve been fooling around a bit, trying to put together a plan for the Ravelympics. A lot of what I’m going to do will depend on time; whether to go top down or toe up on the socks, whether to knit plain or patterned. But I figured it might be a good idea to get something basic out of the way first. How many plies.


There are pros and cons to each, obviously. 3-ply is nice and round and smooshy, will provide more yardage than a cabled 4-ply, and spins up faster. But, at least in sampling, my 4-ply was much more even, and in doing a 4-ply, the ends can be andean or handy plied so that there’s no waste left over. A cabled 4-ply is also sturdier than 3-ply, although it is a bit thicker than I normally like for sock yarn.

I think, in the end, I’m going to go for 3-ply. I know that really once the socks are done it’s not going to matter that much, but I just like the look of a good 3-ply so much more:
033020808threeply

2 Comments

  1. genuinelye said,

    It looks pretty. Is that a harmony DPN you’re using? My Saturday spinning class is about plying, I can’t wait to start,

  2. loopykd said,

    That is some really perfect 3-ply, if you ask me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

