Kyasarin

17 August, 2008 at 2:35 pm (FO, knitting)

I finally get the chance to make my big FO post and I’m at a loss for words.

kyasarinmodelled2

I love this sweater.

kyasarinback

Pattern: Katharine Hepburn Cardigan by Kathy Zimmerman, from Lace Style
Yarn: Knit One, Crochet Too Angora Soft (discontinued) in sage green, 8.5 skeins
Needles: US4/3.5mm and US6/4mm Knitpicks Options
Duration: 20th July to 6th August (17 days)
Notes: Any changes I made this time around were fairly minor; some gauge fussing mostly, and short-rowing both the sleeve cap and the shoulder shaping to make for easier seaming. There are a few things I wish I had changed, though, and if I make the full size version at some point I probably will make these modifications. First, there is absolutely no waist shaping in the cardigan, which I thought I could get away with since I was knitting the short version. Considering the 8″ difference between my ribcage and bust measurements, I probably should’ve cast on fewer stitches and increased up to my size. I might weave some elastic into the ribbing to get it to pull in a bit more, on this version.

The only other major change I’d make would probably be to reorganize the pattern on the back, a bit; the way it is written, the five stitch motif that appears on the rest of the sweater is surrounded by an extra four stitches on each side. I’m not really into the way this breaks up the flow of the pattern, and I would move those extra stitches to the far sides of the back.

kyasarinseams
(Please note that while seaming took me ten hours, I have perfectly set-in sleeves. So it was totally worth it.)

kyasarinmodelled1

Rav page is here.

16 Comments

  1. errs said,

    The cardi is super cute. I’m very impressed. 😀

  2. phoenix said,

    It looks fabulous on you! I hope you get to wear it often.

  3. turtlegirl76 said,

    It looks great! Love the color.

  4. Julie said,

    This is just perfect! Excellent work!!

  5. Darx said,

    Looks smashing on you. Those armscyes are indeed perfection.

  6. Kim said,

    Gorgeous!

  7. trillian42 said,

    Oh, sweetie, that’s adorable!!!

  8. genuinelye said,

    It’s so versatile looking and cute, too. Looks like an awesome layering piece. Great job!

  9. Guro said,

    It’s so cute! Congrats on a great finished cardigan.

  10. emmms said,

    That looks fab! I love the colour and it’s totally making me want to buy Lace Style. I’ve been dithering for ages but this might be the impetus I need… Awesome!

  11. artkid said,

    BUT YOU IS MISSING THE BEST PHOTO!

  12. artkid said,

  13. stickyfingers said,

    that cardi is so freakin’ gorgeous, I just may have to make one for myself. Seriously beautiful. You are so talented!

  14. Lulu said,

    freaking awesome. great job. enjoy the fruits of your hard work.

  15. loopykd said,

    Awesome knitting. Well done and beautiful. Very flattering fit too.

  16. Swatch « Jeshknits said,

    […] awfully familiar. First I decided to take on an epic spinning project and now I’m planning a lace cardigan. Of course, me being me, I’ve upped the challenge a bit this year. I’m not just […]

Leave a Reply

