Glovely

21 August, 2008 at 11:38 pm (knitting)

My original plan for my Ravelympic yarn was to knit socks, but due to various factors (yarn is too thick, not enough time, and I don’t want to shove all that soft and smooshy goodness into my shoes), I’ve decided to switch to… gloves.

glove1

All of a sudden I have the strangest urge to knit huge amounts of winter accessories, like neckwarmers and gloves and mittens and scarves and maybe some hats. I don’t know why; although it’s been cooler than usual here it still hits 30C/85F most days. Still, my birthday’s only a few weeks off, which means fall (glorious fall) is also on the way.

I did have to frog my Smooshy sock.
froggedsmooshy
The pattern, while gorgeous, had some weird fiddly bits that I think could’ve stood to be re-worked/better written. I might return to them eventually, but not with this yarn—the fantastic erqsome has already promised me a pattern to use for the Smooshy.

But, since I seem incapable of having my US1.5s empty for more than five minutes, I had to cast on for something new.
entangled1
More gloves. Go figure.

5 Comments

  1. Jo said,

    Having premonitions of a cold winter?

  2. Akknitter said,

    You’re not the only one who has been on a winter kick.. I think it’s the air getting colder that’s doing it.

  3. turtlegirl76 said,

    You know, despite the torture of stockinette gloves, they’re looking really fantastic.

  4. fiberfiend6891 said,

    Maybe it’s like one of those nesting instinct thingies…where squirrels start hoarding nuts and stuff…

    Except you’re not a squirrel…I don’t think…

    😉

  5. Vicki said,

    I know what you mean – the air is getting cooler here too, I have been gathering all of my winter patterns and organizing the yarn to go with them. Love the yarn for the gloves – you’ll be able to admire it better on your hands.

Leave a Reply

