Things that happened

21 October, 2008 at 9:57 pm (travel)

This post features lots of pictures. Including pictures not belonging to me (but taken with permission). You’ve been warned.

So what did I do at Rhinebeck? I saw lots of friends, new and old (but only managed to get pictures of a few of them)
maryheather cydandnancy
kateandgretchen keandkf
frecklegirljess

(I stole a bunch of these pictures. The owners know who they are.)

I kinneared the Harlot while she was chatting with Lisa and Jen,

and also went over during the book signing to get a copy of her latest and chat for a bit. She is the most charming woman. I think being Canadian has something to do with it; I also met briefly with Amy Singer, who was equally as fantastic and charming. And when I introduced myself as a knittyboarder she said she knew me from my spindles!


(picture courtesy of Erica)
If you saw me walking around with or pulling out a can of coffee, and were wondering what the hell I was doing with it…

mary-heather and the peanut butter cookie
(picture courtesy of Kathe)
there were peanut butter cookies inside! I made about 75 cookies and all of them were gone by the end of the party on Saturday night. Next year I promise I will make more.

I got some Rav swag, and some Knitty swag, and some Twist Collective swag, and won a raffle prize at the Ravelry party (a year’s subscription to Crochet Today. I suppose that’s one way to improve my crochet skills!)
ravschwag

And then, tired and exhausted, I hauled all of my stuff home, minus 17 spindles and all of the peanut butter cookies, but plus several pounds of fiber and lots of happy memories. Next post will contain all the things I bought!

(PS I am restocking my spindle supplies as we speak, and the four leftover from the show will be going up on etsy as soon as I can find the words to describe them. “Drop spindle, iz pretty, makes yarn” is all my poor, fried brain can come up with at the moment.)

(PPS I know someone has pictures of the Holiday Yarns booth complete with my spindle setup, but that person is not me. Big, huge, giant hugs and thanks to both Jen and Lisa for hosting my spindles and putting up with me. You ladies are the best.)

14 Comments

  1. itgirl said,

    thank you for not getting a pic of me! 🙂

  2. Carol said,

    Drop spindle iz pretty makez yarnz sounds like a good description to me!

    Also sounds like loads of fun at Rhinebeck. one day I will go too….

  3. errs said,

    Looks like you had so much fun!

  4. Kathe said,

    There are still 2 cookies here, believe it or not! They won’t last much longer, though-I am feeling a bit peckish 😉

  5. MonicaPDX said,

    Hurray for selling spindles! I am in love with your cookies. Between you and KTB38 and Zuzu, it’s amazing I’m not *twice* the size of a house now. 😉 And hey, you not only kinneared Stephanie, you kinneared Brewergnome’s arse! That’s quite a two-in-one; gotta be some kind of record.

  6. Dan - aka brewergnome said,

    Your spindles and Zuzu’s cupcakes were my Sunday dinner, and kept me fed enough to make it home before crashing. Nom nom tasty cookies.

    T’was great to meet you! Next time, I shall have to buy one of your itty bitty spindles.

  7. Tsock Tsarina said,

    Whee! You did way better on the pictures than I did.

    BTW I’m pretty sure Jen has pics of the whole booth. I was too fried to take any except by accident, and they don’t show much.

    Srsly a weekend to remember. And I’d say the spindles were a rly rly big hit!

  8. gwynivar said,

    I blogged your spindles – but stole the pic from your site. I KNOW I took a picture of them in the booth… but alas, I cannot find it.
    and I thnk your description for the spindles on etsy is EXCELLENT.

  9. Mary-Heather said,

    OMG those cookies. I shall remember them fondly in my dreams. nom nom!!

    It was so great to meet you in person! 🙂

  10. AJ said,

    You met Jess?! OMG! I am so jealous!

  11. LittleWit said,

    It looks like such a wonderful trip. Hooray for selling 17 spindles!

  12. Artsygal said,

    I’m so jealous, reading everyones Rhinebeck posts! Sounds like you had a great time though! And I’m going to have to get myself one of your spindles sometime soon!

  13. Jo said,

    Looks like everyone had fun. Great pic. too. I’ve got a question about the sweater that Mary-Heather is wearing in the pic. w/ PB cookie. Do you know what pattern it is? Would love to find it, looks like something I’d wear (comfy). TIA for a reply. Cheers!

  14. Ronni said,

    Love your photos and your peanut butter cookies look so delicious but wow is that a shawl or a sweater you are wearing while in a dreamy pose with that lovely cookie your carressing………………and what yarn was it knit in….he colorway is beautiful and the whole thing is simply sensational.
    ronni

Leave a Reply

