Sampled

30 October, 2008 at 2:15 am (spinning)

I finally managed to break open my merino/tussah from Rhinebeck (the fiber which, incidentally, tsocky also bought some of—we have promised to compare notes after we both spin it up) and get a good sized sample of it.

How good sized? Oh, about ten grams or so. But out of that ten grams I managed to squeeze 128 yards. That is not a typo. 128 yards out of ten grams of fiber. 128 yards out of the same weight as a nickel and two pennies. Not only that, but it’s two-ply as well.

My tiny yarnz, let me show you them:

When I set out to spin this I did actually mean to go as thin as I could get it, because I knew that if I thinned down the colours and blurred them all together I’d get a gorgeous yarn. I just didn’t realize that I could spin, well, quite this thin. And if I keep spinning this thin? I’ll get 2500+ yards out of the remainder of the 8oz I bought. That’s enough for two generously sized shawls. Although admittedly I have no idea when I’d find the time to knit said shawls, but that’s okay, because the finished yarn is so sinfully soft that I could just wrap the skeins around my shoulders and be done with it.

Did I mention that this stuff is soft? Yes? Let me mention it again. The buttery smoothness of silk combined with the bounce and spring of the wool makes this so, so deliciously soft that I wish you all could feel it. I was worried when spinning the singles that they would be overspun to the point of crunchitude, but plying released just enough of that extra twist so that it all settled down nicely.

8 Comments

  1. Fiona Brechin said,

    It’s so pretty and so incredibly even – I’m very jealous of your mad spinning skillz! Go you!

  2. LittleWit said,

    It looks wonderful. I like the idea of just draping the yarn over your shoulders as a shawl. That would be a much faster “knit”.

  3. Carol said,

    That is stunningly lovely!

  4. Batty said,

    Pretty yarn! Look at all the different colors… dark and spooky with a happy undertone, the best kind there is!

  5. errs said,

    Wow! Now that’s some seriously tiny yarn!

  6. loopykd said,

    Excellent spinning. Keep up the great work! Really beautiful!

  7. turtlegirl76 said,

    Wow. Well done! it looks gorgeous!

  8. jeninmaine said,

    I’m late to the party but I wanted to throw in my words of praise! 😀

Leave a Reply

