Emergency knitting

13 December, 2008 at 12:16 pm (caturday, knitting)

I really don’t do knitted gifts—especially not knitted gifts around holiday time. For one thing, I’m terrible with deadlines. For another, I’m pretty flighty with my knitting, casting on and frogging and abandoning things rather frequently. I’d guess that only one in every four projects that I cast on actually get committed to with any seriousness, and only about half of those ever get finished. So, gift knitting, not my thing.

However.

I was playing in a swap game on Ravelry a couple weeks ago and someone offered some LL Shepherd Sport in a nice solid blue shade. I’m not much one for blue, usually, but I absolutely adore the LL Shepherd line so I wasn’t about to let someone else grab it. When it arrived here though, I realized that it is the perfect shade for my sister-in-law, who, oh, incidentally, has a birthday on the 21st.

What was that about deadlines?

susannastart
The first sock attempt, as seen above, with 60 stitches on US1.5s, was far, far too small–this stitch pattern, despite being rather lacy, has absolutely no give in some areas, thanks to some stacked decreases that act like faux cables. Of course, I was in denial about the non-fitting issue the whole way down the leg, which led to some serious frustration when I finally admitted that it was, in fact, too small, and I would have to start over. I went up to a US2.5, though, and now it’s going swimmingly. If I’m lucky I’ll have them done and ready to mail by mid-week.

(Yes, I am knitting directly from the skein. More on that later this week.)

In other news, I whipped up some new business card prototypes, and now I get to do my (least) favorite part of actually picking one of them to send out to have printed. I’m really liking the lower lefthand corner, but um, I can’t remake that spindle, so I’m afraid it’s a bit of false advertising.

In other other news, I will get a blissful cat-free night on Tuesday, when Oolong goes in for a certain surgical procedure.

(Honestly? I’ll be grateful for the sleep, and she’ll only be gone for 24 hours, but I think I’m gonna miss her like crazy. I really love this little cat.)

11 Comments

  1. Tsock Tsarina said,

    Top right, then. Definitely. And I needz sum of dem.

  2. pdxknitterati said,

    Bottom left (but that will only bring you grief as we all want that one), bottom right, top right, top left, in that order. But they all look great.

    Yes, I foolishly cast on for a gift last week, too. Fourth project idea looked good, and now I’m on the third iteration of that fourth project idea. There has been a lot of frogging! A “quick” project, yeah, right. But I think it will be a winner.

    That blue yarn is beautiful; I’m looking forward to seeing the finished sock!

  3. Corrina said,

    I wouldn’t pick the one you can’t reproduce. I used to work in a yarn store and people got seriously honked off when they saw a sample project that we didn’t have yarn or the pattern for (the owner was horrible about that).

    I like the top left and the bottom right.

  4. Akknitter said,

    I like the top left, but I like being able to see the shaft.. so I guess I say top right.

  5. Daniella said,

    I personally like both the top ones best. Favorite being the top right because it’s the most neutral. Why not see if your printer can do all of them in small batches? Then you can mix it up when you hand them out? Also, we should organize some sort of business card swap, because I’d love to have some of yours to hand out to people who are looking for spindles. ( I work in a yarn shop that does not sell spinning supplies.)

  6. mary said,

    I like the bottom left or top right. Oolong is getting soooo big!!

    Oh and I nominated you for a Spreader of Love Award on my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. thatotherredhead said,

    Top right but then that’s my spindle and I’m prejudiced. Come claim your crap on the backward swap before someone breaks out in hives.

  8. LittleWit said,

    Glad to hear you found a solution for the socks. ๐Ÿ™‚ I like all of your business cards. Would it be possible to just print them all and rotate through them? Then you wouldn’t have to choose. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Batty said,

    Lovely cards and lovely spindles. I really like the lower left hand corner, but the lower right hand corner is also amazing. You’re very talented.

  10. K said,

    Oolong is such a pretty, pretty girl.

    Also pretty is that blue Shepherd Sport. Mm, Lorna’s Laces.

  11. Dan/Brewergnome said,

    Bottom right!

    Also ::waves::

Leave a Reply

