New Year

1 January, 2009 at 9:37 pm (knitting, life)

I’m not really big on new year celebrations; unlike, say, solstice or Christmas, new year’s seems to be a pretty arbitrary assignment of time to flip the calendar and begin anew. The ritual of resolutions and casting off of the old year also seem pretty strange to me; if I didn’t have the resolve to do something before the new year, the change of the year isn’t going to suddenly give me that power.

Still, a lot of people place a lot of importance on these things, and what with my loss of knitting mojo, I thought I might try it. Someone on knittyboard suggested that we should frog any languishing projects that we know we won’t get back to; done. (I’m not going to tell you how many things I frogged, but the number is high, and most of them were never ever documented anywhere, so I’m trying not to feel too guilty.) Someone else suggested casting on something new; done.

newyearsocksstart

Exactly at midnight, I pulled out my needles and started some stockinette socks. Nothing fancy, or challenging, or stressful, just some simple socks in the hopes that my upcoming year will also be simple and low-stress. (It won’t be, but this is part of the ritual, right?)

The next phase of the rituals that I’m going along with but not quite believing in is actually one that makes a bit more sense to me—I’m going to be clearing out some (a lot) of my things in anticipation of a move. More details to come as they are available but let’s just say… there will be much destashing before I go.

5 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    Oooh! A mysterious move! Can’t wait till more details are forthcoming

  2. pdxknitterati said,

    Pretty, pretty yarn. That will be a great sock. Happy New Year!

  3. Emilee said,

    Happy new year!

  4. Batty said,

    Happy New Year! Looks like a good caston… I hope your mojo makes it back.

  5. Ktb38 said,

    Love the yarn!

Leave a Reply

