Jeshyfish

17 January, 2009 at 10:47 am (caturday, FO, knitting)

jeshyfish3

Did I mention how totally, truly awesome it is to have my knitting mojo back? Oh yes. I am a knitting machine.

jeshyfish2

I don’t really have much to say about this other than it was super fast and (comparatively) easy. I knit all six tentacles in about two and a half hours, completed the body in another three, and the seaming, stuffing, and finishing took forty-five minutes or so. This is definitely a pattern I’ll be making more of.

One note if you’re planning to make this for yourself, though—beware the bind-off instructions for the ruffle on the bell. It calls for a “k2tog tbl, put stitch back on left needle, repeat” bind off, which is way, way too snug to get the nice full ruffle that’s shown on the pattern itself. The rav projects page shows a bunch of poor, unruffly bells, and I suspect this is why. I used a sewn bind off, which worked out much better.

I also have notes on how to pick up stitches from the wrong side of a piece, but those will come next week along with a few other neat tutorials.

jeshyfish1

Pattern: Jellyfish
Yarn: Cascade 220, scraps from the Jeshalope
Needles: US2.5/3mm Addi Turbos
On Ravelry here.

PS: it’s Caturday! Oolong says hello.

7 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    Very nifty toy! Hai Oolong!

  2. Kimberly from SBL said,

    Love the toy. Would you have put catnip inside for Oolong if it were possible?

  3. Ellen said,

    YEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!! JESHYFISH COMPLETE! OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG ILY OMG

  4. Tsock Tsarina said,

    Funny, I usually think of that bind-off as nice and stretchy. Then again, I’ve reached a point where when I want a loose bind-off I just do a standard chained one but work it really loosely. It’s not as hard to do as I used to think – just requires a little concentration and relaxation, which isn’t as contradictory as it may sound.

    Anyway, WAY adorable Jeshyfish.

    And speaking of WAY adorable, don’t think I don’t know why you put up that beautiful picture of that sweet baby cat girl, looking right at me, dammit.

  5. pdxknitterati said,

    Cute jeshyfish! Why you squish Oolong with giant cushion?

  6. silencepainter said,

    So cute!

  7. Erica said,

    I love the Jeshyfish! Off to ravelry to spy on how you made this…

Leave a Reply

