Something Sweet

19 January, 2009 at 9:27 am (knitting)

On a bit of a whim yesterday I decided to cast on for some lace. Because obviously what I need in my life is more WIPs, right? But I think this one will be an FO by tomorrow, so I’m not too concerned.

hyrna93

I’m really not sure why someone thought it would be a brilliant idea to ruin a perfectly good green cashmere laceweight with random confetti-esque splotches of pink and blue. I thought I could ignore it, or that they would just kind of disappear into the fabric, but I really can’t get over it. Hopefully an overdye once it’s finished will smooth them out a bit.

9 Comments

  1. TC said,

    Nice. And I love that shade of green.

  2. Knit Witch said,

    Wow. On cashmere??? A bold move. I love the pattern!

  3. Erica said,

    love! love! love!

  4. Carol said,

    Ooh! Ooh! What will it be? The green is pretty. Hopefully you can fix the sprinkles…

  5. RedScot said,

    Whim? You were bullied into it! (Or at least hypnotised into it!) I kinda like the sprinkles, though – maybe once it’s all finished you won’t mind them so much? You can always send it to me if you’re really not keen…

    😉

  6. Kathe said,

    you speedy knitter, you!I think I may feel a bit of lace inspiration coming on…

  7. winter said,

    i kind of like the confetti colours. don’t dye over them 😦

  8. cynthia said,

    First, let me say that I’m a huge fan of your posts. You’re on my List Of Ravelry Favorites, and I often share your stuff with my knitting friends.

    I am writing everyone on my Favorites List with a couple of questions. If you can answer them for me, it would be a HUGE HUGE HUGE favor. Really HUGE.

    Thing is, I am writing a piece on Ravelry for my college magazine. Topic is WHY Ravelry is such a huge success. I need opinions from fellow Ravelers like you to back up this claim I am making.

    These are the questions:

    1) Why did you choose to join Ravelry?

    2) How did you learn about Ravelry?

    3) What does Ravelry give you that other sites don’t?

    4) Absolutely anything else you’d like to share with me on this subject.

    My quandary is this: I love the site and come here almost every week to look for knitting tips and ideas. (I haven’t joined yet, as I am too shy to talk of my own work…)

    I want to understand why others do the same. Each person must have his or her own reason and I am very curious to understand this trend.

    Once I write the piece, I intend to send it across to Bob the dog. Maybe, he will post it on the site to encourage newcomers or even use it for other promotion purposes.

    Thank you in advance

    Keep writing, keep sharing, keep creating
    Warmest regards
    Cynthia

    My Email address is:
    cynthiachesterfield@gmail.com

  9. SylverX said,

    Don’t overdye it!! That is beautiful! Can I haz patternz?
    SylverX

Leave a Reply

