Noro Striped Knee Socks

12 March, 2009 at 4:15 pm (FO, knitting)

At long last!

norostripedkneesockswheel

A few people have asked me for a pattern, and I’m afraid to tell you… I don’t have one. I took notes, obviously, so I could make the socks match, but they are in a strange form of shorthand that I’m not sure even I understand anymore:

“k 16 str inc 1 st in fin rnd of 16th bcklp inc 2 mir sts every 3rd rnd for 12 str”

But essentially these socks are just your plain basic toe up knee socks with a color change every four rows. Nothing complex, I assure you!

norostripedkneesockstanding

Pattern: none—see above
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden Sock in S245 (purple/green/blue/red/orange/black/grey) and S269 (neutrals)
Needles: US1.5/2.5mm Addi Turbos
Notes: If I were the kind of person to knit the same thing twice, and I decided to do these again, I’d probably go up a needle size. While the yarn is marketed as a fingering weight, and there are certainly points where it is that thin (or thinner), most of it is more toward a sport weight. These are pretty bulletproof socks, and they would probably be much softer with a looser, drapier fabric. They’re also a little tough to get on because there’s very little stretch to them.

That said, once they’re on they feel great—no sliding, no itchiness. A slight woolly feel, but that’s a good thing in the middle of winter when you’re freezing your toes off. On the whole, while I can’t say that these are my favorite socks ever, I think the majority of that is related to the neverending knitting experience, because they are otherwise a fine pair of socks.

On Ravelry here.

norostripedkneesockssitting

13 Comments

  1. fiberfiend6891 said,

    Hurray! I knew you could do it! They’re fantastic – delightfully Seussian… šŸ™‚

  2. Abby said,

    They turned out fab! =)

  3. Stickyfingers said,

    They’s real pretty!
    Good work, and yay! you finished something! šŸ˜‰

  4. Kirstie said,

    Adorable!

  5. Aitara said,

    they look great! congrats on finishing them!

  6. turtlegirl76 said,

    They look fabulous!

  7. bigrederin said,

    But…the heel? How did you do the heel, woman?! I’m in love with that heel.

  8. Zonda said,

    Awesome!!

  9. trillian42 said,

    Good heavens those are cute. I’ve pretty much determined I do NOT have the patience for knee socks for me, though. šŸ™‚

  10. pdxknitterati said,

    Congratulations! It was worth the slog; we loves them!

  11. Jo said,

    They are gorgeous, I’ve never seen a neutral noro sock, I think only the kureyon has made it across the pond! They look so perfect, how did you achieve your jogless stripes?

  12. Knit Witch said,

    They look great!

  13. (meg) kiss my style said,

    ahhh! they are soooo pretty! Your tootsies look so warm and happy!

Leave a Reply

