It’s Official

14 March, 2009 at 5:56 pm (caturday, knitting)

She’s ours to keep.

oolongandjesh

Thanks to all of you for your kind words and emails, donations, and spindle purchases. There was more than enough to cover the adoption fee, for which I—we! are so grateful. The little bit left over went toward catnip mice and treats.

In knitting news, I decided to avoid the dreaded just-cast-off-what-now? syndrome by going immediately for something new. Baby sweater!

elephantstart

I’m test knitting/tech editing/formatting this pattern for my dear Elin, who is something of a knitting genius but never writes down what she does. Hopefully this time I’ll be able to put together a nice clean PDF for her to put up to share.

There will also be a brief tutorial post coming later this week on my technique for stranded knitting with both yarns in the right hand. I tried to get a video of how it works and totally failed. But here’s a still shot so you get the idea:

righthandedcolorwork

9 Comments

  1. Jadielady said,

    YAY for happy endings, you both look so relieved šŸ™‚
    *brain melts at the mere mention of stranded knitting*

  2. lilknitter said,

    Yay for Oolong! I’m thrilled for you and your beloved kitty!

    And stranded knitting using only the right hand?! I’m awaiting your tute with bated breath: my left hand is entirely incapable of stranding yarn!

  3. pdxknitterati said,

    Congrats to you and Oolong!

    I carry both yarns in my right hand for stranded knitting, too, but I don’t wind the yarn in my fingers (although I do wind if knitting with just one). Looking forward to seeing your way!

  4. Emilee said,

    Yay kitty-cat!

    That’s basically how I held the yarn for a double-knitting project I just finished, but I’ve never tried it for stranded knitting. Hmmm…

  5. Nancy said,

    Yay for happy Kittehs and for happy Jesh’s!!!!

    :)~

  6. bigrederin said,

    Hooray for Oolong! I’m happy he gets to stay with you guys!

    How interesting holding the yarn in your right hand – I always hold mine in my left, even when I’m doing colorwork…well, OK, the ONE time I did colorwork. BTW, is that a steek that I spy? *hyperventilates from teh awesome*

  7. bigrederin said,

    Umm…my bad. Oolong’s a lady kitty, isn’t she?

    Well, I’m extra happy then!

  8. peri said,

    Gorgeous kitty – congrats to you both.

  9. RedScot said,

    WOOHOO!

    Oolong is staying! Erm… you do realise that she’s partly ours now, too, don’t you?

    šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

