This is only a test

7 May, 2009 at 10:50 pm (knitting)

Test knitting is kind of exciting to me—it’s fun to come in and be part of the designing process and get to work on creating a better pattern. And it’s even better when I get to do it for a friend!

limeslicestaketwo

Nicola designed these really delightful socks and kindly permitted me to tear her pattern to pieces and then put it back together again. Of course, she writes such a great pattern to begin with that there’s actually very little for me to do, other than to knit the pattern.

You may have also noticed that I’ve been knitting directly from the skein for the past couple of projects; I don’t know why I started doing this (I suspect sheer laziness) but I’m finding that I really like it. It saves me the trouble of winding a cake, rewinding it because it’s too tight, rewinding again because it’s too loose, then again because it’s all uneven, then a few more times halfway through the project because the whole thing’s collapsed in on itself, then one more time when I’m done with the project so I can store the leftovers. Instead I start out with a skein and end up with a smaller skein. Easy. In fact I think I might break out my niddy noddy and skein up all of my caked yarn—it’ll be easier to store that way, too.

4 Comments

  1. Knit Witch said,

    Really?? Holy cow – you are a brave woman.

  2. Eleanor (undeadgoat) said,

    HOW? Is the question.

  3. deirs said,

    I’d like to know too! I feel like it would get tangled. And how do you deal with knitting a pair of socks from one skein? I suppose one could just keep weighing it…

  4. RedScot said,

    The yarn is PERFECT! You’re a DARLING for testing it for me! I’m tempted to try the knitting from a skein thing, but I know that it would be a disaster, going by my already tangled attempts just to ball the things up! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

