Stash

13 May, 2009 at 2:49 am (knitting, spinning)

Hi kids! Today I’d like to talk to you about a very important issue in all of our lives: Stash.

stash

This is my Stash. (Well, mostly. There’s another shelf with the non-green non-sock yarn, as well as a giant bin of scrap yarn. And the fiber Stash is about this size. Okay, so this is a small portion of my Stash. Whatever.)

I have Stash issues. Now, don’t get me wrong, I like knowing that at any given moment, should the world’s yarn stores suddenly run out of all of their fiber, I will still have something to knit. And I like knowing that at any given moment if I feel the need to start a pair of socks, or a sweater, or a toy, or a pair of mittens, I can get right to it without having to stop and run to the yarn store (or order online) and pick out a color and decide on a weight and discuss with the shop owner how much I’ll really need because the pattern says eight skeins but I like my sleeves longer so maybe I need nine skeins but I’m skipping the hood so maybe seven will be enough? So I like having yarn around, to keep me from such dilemmas.

But it’s too much. It bothers me. I know my Stash pales in comparison to that of some people (you know who you are), but there is at least two dozen projects’ worth in there, and that leads me to startitis. After all, there is a sweater’s worth of yarn over there, just waiting to be started, and I have just the pattern for it, so I might as well get to it, right? I should also start those knee socks, while I’m here, and that pair of colorwork mittens that I’ve been dying to make. And I want to break into that fiber because I think it would make a great laceweight, nevermind that I spin at a snail’s pace and laceweight is an especially lengthy project, and gosh, that is a cute toy and it should be fast, and I have just the yarn for it, and this yarn, well, this yarn could not be any more perfect for a scarf, and if I don’t start that now it will probably become less perfect for said scarf as time goes on, so I should start it. How long could a scarf take me, really? I knit a freakin’ lace shawl in 72 hours!

All this to say… I started a new project.
giraffe

And another one.
tsockbattstart

And another one. And um, another one.

But it’s the Stash’s fault. Really.

9 Comments

  1. udontno said,

    I must say that I’m pretty good about having one project at a time (most of the time) despite my reasonably large stash.

  2. thea said,

    Looks like the perfect size for a stash — enough to have choices, but no so much you can’t see what you’ve got anymore. And I don’t see a lot of strays floating around – hafl skeins, singles with no plans,etc. I’m saying Well Done. I wish mine was that size….

  3. Karen said,

    It’s ALWAYS the stash’s fault.

  4. pdxknitterati said,

    Hmmm. I don’t stash much, and I’m a one or two project at a time person. Because I’d lose interest and never finish anything if I moved on too early!

    That first project looks interesting. Legs?

  5. trillian42 said,

    I can’t imagine what you are talking about. I don’t personally believe in stash. That’s why I never buy more yarn than I need for the one single project I’m working on right now.

    BWAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  6. Kate said,

    We have similar sized stashes! Amazing. I always think I have a tiny stash when I see others’.

  7. Your mom said,

    You get this from your father.

  8. Tsock Tsarina said,

    Awwww… teh cyoot leetle mini-baby-stashlet! That’s adorable.

    Also… that last picture looks maybe kind of familiar?

  9. Tsock Tsarina said,

    ETA: I think I heart your mother.

Leave a Reply

