Shun!!1!

19 May, 2009 at 4:14 am (FO, knitting)

Some of you who may know me from Ravelry (particularly from the Completely Pointless and Arbitrary Group group) may have noticed that I have a certain fondness for a certain image macro.

kitty
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

Cracks me up every time.

Anyway, I’ve managed to catch my very own shun giraffe, as seen here in his natural habitat—soft, rolling green hills of stash yarn.
shungiraffe

The shun giraffe is usually a kind and gentle creature, but must be approached cautiously, for it may shun at any time.
shunthenonmerino
Shun!!1! Shun the non-merino! Shuuuuuuuuuun!!!1!

(Er, that’s a scrap of alpaca fiber—strangely enough I couldn’t find any miniature ducks.)

Pattern: Little Giraffe by Christine Landry
Yarn: unidentified superwash fingering wt wool, yellow and brown
Needles: US0/2mm Addi Turbos
Notes: There are some better (more intricate and detailed) giraffe patterns out there, but this one was free and fast, and also has the benefit of being easily adjustable to any gauge, so my tiny giraffe is perfectly keychained sized. I shortened the legs and also kind of winged the head and the ears, as the original instructions were kind of strange. Please ignore my awfully wonky stranded knitting skills—it’s hard to strand on only 16 stitches in the round!

Find the shun giraffe here on Ravelry!

16 Comments

  1. Amy P said,

    šŸ˜€ That’s classic! And you are a geek! šŸ˜‰

  2. Becca said,

    I wish I were clever enough to come up with a suitable LOLcats / Icanhascheeseburger for this comment, instead I’ll just say Love (1000000000000000000) !

  3. knittingpurls said,

    That’s great!

  4. Amelia said,

    oh my. that is so cute i almost threw up a little in my mouth.

    ā¤

  5. jeninmaine said,

    THAT is EPIC. šŸ˜€

  6. trillian42 said,

    LOL – too funny!

    And I’m totally going to be on the lookout for a tiny tiny duck for you. šŸ˜€

  7. Abby said,

    Shunn!!1!! Shun the non-believer!1!!

    Too cute. =D

  8. Mags said,

    A-MA-ZING.

    You need a mini duck. Seriously.

  9. Kristine said,

    this is hilarious. love it.

  10. Knottymare said,

    LOVE it. My fave LOL and now in living color/yarn/fuzz… too good to be true. I can haz nao? Too much fun. OMGWTFBBQ!1!!!1!11!!

  11. Ellen said,

    tiny giraffe is tiny!

  12. RedScot said,

    I love this little guy!

  13. Tsock Tsarina said,

    agree(1) with Jeninmaine. Epic.Shuuuuuuunnn!!1!

    Also agree(1) with the duck-seekers. I predict you will soon be inundated with teeny-tiny unbelieving ducklets. Oh, Pixisis…?

  14. Kathe said,

    lovelovelove(eleventy billion)!
    Mr. Fiddler liked it, too šŸ˜‰

  15. fiberfiend6891 said,

    Sweeet! I love the photoshoot. And as appropriate as the duck might be, I think I like the little unwary alpaca…

  16. Cathy-Cate said,

    You know, as I mourn the Number One Shun Giraffe, I also realize that it would probably be a lot easier and potentially neater to do a slipstitch mosaic knitting kind of thing for the colorwork on 16 stitches….

Leave a Reply

