Preparations

4 June, 2009 at 12:35 am (spindles)

I kind of knew what I was getting myself into with this show, but at the same time I had no idea whatsoever. This week has been a mess of non-stop spindle building, fiber carding, sample finding, display planning, constant panicking. Presumably it gets easier once you’ve done a few, but… yeesh.

So here’s the pathetically small amount I have to show for all of my work:

showspindles
This is only about 2/3rds of what I actually have finished, since several more got made after this was taken. Also, they will no longer fit in just the one coffee can—I’ve had to expand to two. This is strange and unusual territory for me!

handspunsamples
From the left: merino/silk, a tsock blend that I don’t recall the makeup of, corriedale, rambouillet, angora/cormo, and merino. I tried to pick a good balance of different fibers, different colors, and different techniques. Okay, not really, this is all I had on hand. But the group does run the spectrum quite nicely, I think.

testbatts (by jesh\)
And a buncha fibery goodness. All handcarded from various scraps I have lying around. I’m hoping to just about double the size of this pile by Saturday… but we’ll see how that goes. There’s still a million things to do and only about 48 hours left to do them.

Wish me luck! I’m sure I’ll need it!

3 Comments

  1. Abby said,

    Good luck! You’ll do awesome, I’m sure. All of your spindles are gorgeous. =)

  2. Cathy-Cate said,

    Good luck at the show, but you WON’T need it! Have fun, too!

  3. Jo said,

    Hope it all went very well, it doesn’t get easier for me, it always turns into a last minute panic of have I got enough, when if I planned things better and got ahead of myself I’d be prepared!

Leave a Reply

