Pillaiyar

20 June, 2009 at 1:46 pm (caturday, FO, knitting)

Pillaiyar: Tamil for Ganesh; (literally) little or noble child

I have to say I think I’m really going to like knitting for this kid. Already I’m thinking of vests and sweaters and hats and socks and wondering if he’ll look good in green or if blue would be a better choice or maybe red will be his favorite color and maybe I should just knit everything in every color so he doesn’t have to choose.
babykyan (by jesh\)
Sheesh. He’s got me wrapped around his little finger from 3000 miles away.

pillaiyar (by jesh\)
I hope he likes his elephant. (Why yes, wild elephants can be found roaming the untamed hills of stash yarn with their giraffe friends.)

Pattern: Elijah by Ysolda Teague
Yarn: Knitpicks Swish DK in Mist, a little more than one skein
Needles: US2.5/3mm Addi Turbos
Notes: Mine came out tiny! Instead of the recommended 6.5 sts/inch I got 8.5 sts/inch which made for a teeny elephant—he sits in my palm quite comfortably. Still, I think he’s a good size for a newborn to hold onto/play with/chew on, and I can make a bigger one as Kyan gets older. It’s a fairly quick knit, as well; I could’ve finished it in two days if not for the Great Elephant Yarn Shortage of ’09, which slowed me up for a week.
On Ravelry here.

pillaiyar2 (by jesh\)

(PS it’s Caturday! Ewok’s still here. Still causing trouble. Still squeaking up a storm.)
windowewok (by jesh\)

3 Comments

  1. Jadielady said,

    Very cute baby, elephant, and kitteh.
    *is jealous of the elephant for getting to sit on what looks like mmmmmmmmmalabrigo*

  2. Denise D. said,

    Jesh, I can see why he has you wrapped around his itty bitty finger, he is precious. I cannot wait to see all the awesome things you will make for him. He is just going to adore his Aunty Jesh!

  3. CBear said,

    Elijah is next on my list! Sophie was so fun to knit, too!

Leave a Reply

