Sleeve Island

19 July, 2009 at 1:04 pm (caturday, knitting)

There comes a time, in every sweater’s life, where one must… knit the sleeves.
honeybeesleeves (by jesh\)

Well, okay, that’s not entirely true. I suppose if you’re knitting a vest there is no sleeve knitting. And if you’re knitting a top down cap sleeved raglan you could probably just cast off the sleeve stitches once you reach that point and not actually knit sleeves. But with most sweaters, there are sleeves, and epic, endless sleeves at that. Even these little half sleeves feel like they’re dragging on and on and on and on and… you get the point.

I think some of it’s psychological; you knit up the whole sweater body and you think to yourself, well! Now that I’m through with that I’ve just got to do the sleeves and the finishing and I’m done! Fast and easy! Except sleeves usually make up about a third of the sweater, which means that however long you spent knitting the entire back, or lower half if you’re working in the round, is probably how long it’s going to take to knit the sleeves.

Of course knowing this doesn’t make it any easier to knit the damn things, does it. I’ve really got to teach Oolong to knit for me.
oolong071909 (by jesh\)

(Does the word ‘sleeve’ look funny to anyone else?)

4 Comments

  1. Joan said,

    Oolong is so cute!

  2. pdxknitterati said,

    I don’t even mind knitting the sleeve. It’s the sewing it in that brings me to a screeching halt. But that’s a beautiful yarn, so knit on! And Oolong looks very helpful. Not.

  3. licraftgal said,

    Yep I am with you I hate knitting the “shittin sleeves” as I call them. My friend Helen suggested I knit them first to get it over with, hmmm. I may have to try that, or at least start them and then knit the front after a certian point and then finish the sleeves and then the rest of the sweater.

  4. Danielle said,

    Oolong toils not, neither does she spin. (I know, I’m so clever.)

Leave a Reply

