Cupcakes

21 July, 2009 at 1:50 pm (food)

Sorry, I can’t knit or spin today, my hands are sticky from frosting. Tasty, delicious frosting.

Did you know that Betty Crocker now makes a gluten free line of mixes? I realize that to most of you, cake mix is no big deal. But for people (like me!) with food sensitivities, being able to walk into a store, grab a mix, go home, and whip up a tray of cupcakes in less than an hour is like a crazy, frosting coated dream come true. To have it taste good is even better. I mean, don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of organic, all natural, health food type gluten free cake mixes that have come out in the past couple of years. Problem is, they can be hit or miss, taste and texture wise, and honestly, if I’m looking for something healthy and organic, I’d rather make it myself from scratch. Cake from a box is comfort food, pure and simple. So to be able to find a mix like this, which makes cupcakes that taste like cupcakes—moist, light and fluffy without crumbling or leaving a weird aftertaste—is pretty awesome.

So I don’t mind the loss of knitting time (although I did finish those sleeves), because these cupcakes are totally worth it. Although I don’t think I can eat the whole tray by myself. Anyone want a cupcake?

3 Comments

  1. Abby said,

    Yes please!

  2. knittingdaisies said,

    gah – there’s those cupcakes calling out to me again! exactly the way i like them – chocolate cake w/ vanilla icing :)

  3. Your Father said,

    “…being able to walk into a store, grab a mix, go home, and whip up a tray of cupcakes in less than an hour is like a crazy, frosting coated dream come true.”

    Sending your father to walk into a store, grab a mix, pay for it, bring it home and give it to you is even better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

