Honeybee

2 September, 2009 at 9:45 am (FO, knitting)

honeybeefull (by jesh\)

What an awesome sweater—the perfect thing for the current weather, when it’s too cold to be in just a t-shirt but too warm for a long sleeved shirt or heavy cardigan. I suspect I’ll be wearing it constantly for the entire month.

I don’t want to say too much about the pattern, since it’s not released yet, but you’re all going to need to get a copy once it is available. The seamless set-in sleeves on this sweater are wonderfully clever and delightful to knit, and the best part is that they fit perfectly. I don’t think I ever want to sew in a sleeve cap again, not when I can get such beautiful, comfortable results this way. Already I’m planning to make another, mostly because fellow test knitter Andrea’s gorgeous green version has made me wish for a non-black one. I also think a slightly denser, long-sleeved version would be a perfect late fall/early winter sweater. Plus, since it used less than 300g of sock yarn for even the 45″ size, it’s a relatively inexpensive sweater! Worked up in many of the mainstream sock yarns, it would be less than $50, and in Knitpicks it would be less than $25. For the whole sweater. Really. How awesome is that?

honeybeeback (by jesh\)

What else can I say? I love this thing. :)

honeybeefront (by jesh\)
Pattern: Honeybee Cardigan by Laura Chau (pattern coming soon–watch her blog for it!)
Yarn: Malabrigo Sock, 3 skeins in Alcaucil
Needles: US3/3.25mm and US5/3.75mm Knitpicks Options Circulars
On Ravelry here.

honeybeeside (by jesh\)

11 Comments

  1. gnomespun said,

    It’s very flattering! Nice

  2. Darcy said,

    Wow, and it looks fantastic on you, too. Lovely!

  3. trillian42 said,

    So cute! I love that first picture of you – it’s adorable!

    Definitely going to have to keep an eye out for this one.

  4. string said,

    I love this sweater, and you look all cute and badass in it. Jeshy is rockin’ this look

  5. etcgirl said,

    Agreed. Rockin. The. Look.

    Hubba. Hubba.

    (Off to stalk Laura now.)

  6. glittrgirl said,

    Wow I love it! And you look fabulous!

  7. Batty said,

    Wow, that came out great!

  8. Ellen said,

    I FREAKIN RULE AT PHOTOGRAPHY.

    Jesh this is the most beautiful sweater, ever. I love it so much. I wanted to steal it while you were here, but I know you know where I live and that would’ve been bad…seeing as you were AT my house already anyway.

    Yes…..

  9. saradippity said,

    Oh, you ROCK that sweater, baby!

  10. Jory said,

    Looks great! I’m on the edge of my seat for this pattern. I bought three skeins of malabrigo sock yarn this weekend for it!

  11. PennyKarma said,

    That looks fantastic! Great job!

Leave a Reply

