NYS&W 2009

20 October, 2009 at 4:09 pm (knitting, spinning, travel)

AKA I Went to Rhinebeck and All I Got Was H1N1.

No kidding. Well no, I got other stuff too, but after all of my protestations that I didn’t need a flu shot, I’m not really around other people that often, etc., I suppose I was due for a little comeuppance in the form of a good (un)healthy dose of flu. And not even the kind I could’ve gotten vaccinated for, even. Oh well.

As usual, there were friends aplenty:
cpaagg (by jesh\) tsockandsandi (by jesh\)
jeshandhabsgirlmatching (by jesh\) fredizensonthemove (by jesh\)
tsockandfredhatton (by jesh\) zeedubandjesh (by jesh\)

And although I almost came home with a wheel…

by the time I went back on Sunday to give it some serious consideration, it was gone. Probably for the best; my mum (hi mum!) really would’ve killed me. In the end my haul was pretty tiny, mostly consisting of really awesome fibers that I haven’t tried yet, plus a new tsock kit, which I’ll have to knit up before next year to keep the tradition going.
rhinebeckhaul (by jesh\)

Unfortunately my camera also took a dive and ended up with a cracked screen, which is why I don’t have quite as many pictures of the weekend as I’d like. I can still take pictures, but I don’t know what they look like until I load them onto the computer. Things may look a little… surreal around here until I replace it.

All in all, it was a fun (if rather adventure-filled) show! Can’t wait to do it again next year.

4 Comments

  1. Emilee said,

    It was so nice to meet you in person! Rhinebeck was a blast.

  2. ZaftigWendy said,

    YAY FUN HAPPY koffkoffkoff HAPPY FUN!!!

    I have to find a way to go back next year!

  3. Ajastoy said,

    Hey girl, dont forget to check out things like Craiglist. Its how I ended up with a CPW that Dave took care of for me (at an excellent price). Found it locally for $125! The woman that I bought it from,, told me it was her great grandfathers wheel. It was great seeing you again, as usual and your knits and spindles! The only thing I forgot to ask you about was cookies!

  4. afrognamedpurl said,

    total suckage abou thte camera! yipes! i would’ve liked to get more pictures. i never take enough.

    if only the kiwis were sold out when i went back to the booth also. alas, i nabed the last one. i was there whne the lady bought that wheel your spinning on in the vid. i didn’t even think to ask the price and went straight for the kiwi but dang the old fashionedy one was half the price. : s whatevs. i wish someone would’ve told me to get more bobbins! and more fiber! there’s always next year i guess.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

