All I Want for Christmas

17 December, 2009 at 2:03 pm (fiber!)

Is lots of tiny, sharp, metal teeth!

drumcarder

I’ve had this carder on layaway since, um, July? And I finally got to pay it off with my Christmas money.

It has already gotten acquainted with the cats (they were not happy to have competition on the fiber nomming front), as well as my knuckles (hey, did you know that drum carders are sharp?), and I’ve managed to produce something that looks vaguely spinnable from it, even:
firstbatt
(33g merino, tencel, alpaca, silk, and baby camel)

I will, of course, have to go spin this batt. For educational purposes. Yes. Don’t look at me like that!!

3 Comments

  1. afrognamedpurl said,

    nom.

  2. trillian42 said,

    Awesome!

    And I’ll second the “nom” on that fiber.

  3. Liz said,

    Oh, pretty, pretty batt! How did it spin?

    And do mind your fingers! Ouch!

Leave a Reply

