Snow Day

19 December, 2009 at 10:52 am (caturday, knitting)

The east coast is getting snowed in, and although it hasn’t started here in northern New Jersey yet, I’m already preparing to spend the rest of the weekend indoors with lots of cocoa and some new pattern math.
mittenmath (by jesh\)

I was going to keep this whole project a secret, but now I don’t think I will—mostly because it’s too funny not to share. Look! It’s a manta ray!
mantaray (by jesh\)

Heh. Just kidding. It’s actually… a mitten.
sidewaysmitten (by jesh\)
A sideways mitten. I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided that regular up and down mittens just weren’t good enough, but now that I’m working on this idea I’ve found that I really can’t leave it alone. Still waffling back and forth on whether or not there will be an official pattern, since these are so tricky and the specifics of how to shape them can vary widely depending on hand width, finger length, and other factors. Still, I figure if I take good notes (see above re: pattern math), then I’ll have something to show for it, either way.

oolong (by jesh\)
You know, I bet knitting sideways mittens for Oolong would be a lot easier.

2 Comments

  1. Beverly said,

    Being determined to do what is seemingly impossible is a good way to go crazy – especially when it comes to knitting patterns! Good luck with the mitten. The kitty is adorable!

  2. fiberfiend6891 said,

    The cat picture is FANTASTIC. Also I’m excited for the sideways mittens!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

