Caturdays Are for Mathing

30 January, 2010 at 10:16 pm (caturday, knitting)

YIP 030/365---Pattern Maths (by jesh\)

Not that the cats would agree, mind you.
YIP 025/365---One of those days (by jesh\)

But I spent most of my day pondering pattern math, both for a new cowl that will be released next month:
scowlinprogress (by jesh\)
(That’s assuming I like it enough when it’s done. Currently we are in the ‘heck yeah, it’s awesome!’ phase. After another repeat I’ll be in the ‘what the heck was I thinking?’ phase.)

And also to work out the troublesome details on my Ravelympics sweater, which I’m going to design myself. Problem is, what started out as a simple stockinette pullover has now gained tricky shaping and neckline gathers and applied i-cord and sleeves that need to be worked from the top down and seamless set-in shoulders and all kinds of, well, mathiness. Not that I mind math (math is delicious!) but… I’m awfully anxious to get started on this thing to see if I can actually make it work out properly. Is it the 12th yet?

(Please note that tomorrow, the 31st, is the last day that I’ll be donating 100% of my pattern sales to MSF/doctors without borders, so if you’d like to donate some money and get a pattern in return, now would be the time to do so!)

1 Comment

  1. Beverly said,

    I love knitting math too! It’s so fun to use math skills to solve a knitting dilemma or make a design work. (I’m a middle school math teacher though…so most consider me weird, especially my students!) That open lace looks lovely. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a comment